Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe should be called "Must love Sauerkraut", :P My boyfriend loved it but I am not such a sauerkraut fan so I didn't enjoy it as much, when I made this recipe I cubed the potatoes into smaller bits so they cooked through all the way, I layered those on the bottom and then sauerkraut, sausage,sliced apples, and poured the liquid over the top. Next time I will cube the apples as well and add them halfway through cooking time, they did get a bit mushy. A bit hit for you sauerkraut lovers out there! Thanks for the recipe Michele, even though I learned I don't like sauerkraut that much my boyfriend is a very happy man, haha! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Maries, Idaho, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Hi, thanx for sharing. I didn't do the caraway seed. I have learned over many year's to add alittle sugar to the Kraut. Take's the bite off !!And help's the flavor's blend in better . We all loved the Swiss on top,used a bit extra.Wounderful !! Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This turned out awesome! Not everyone in my family is big on Swiss cheese, but it was the perfect cheese to make just the right blend of flavors in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
It's better the second day when the flavors have a chance to blend more. But it's not as good as just sauerkraut and kielbasa served up with rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
The whole family LOVED this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Terrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe. I used fresh polish keilbasa, not the packaged junk you find at the supermarket. I also added about a cup of chunky applesauce to the mix, just to give the apple a more pronounced flavor. I also omitted the cheese and caraway seeds. There were no leftovers 24 hours later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
We did like the dish but it did not have too much flavor, next time I am going to add more sauerkraut and less potatoes and not rinse the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
We really liked this. I did however only use 1 apple (some have issues with sweet food here) used beer instead of chicken broth and omitted the swiss cheese. My crock pot is a little off so I put this in a 9x13 pan and baked at 350 for about 1 1/2 hrs. Served it with Beer Biscuits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very German. What a unique mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
My maternal grandmother used to make this, but she did not add any caraway seeds or Swiss cheese. She also always rinsed the kraut thoroughly so it was very sweet tasting not heavy salty YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States