Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is a 4-star recipe ONLY if you do the following: Add 1/2 cup of honey mustard, 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar, 2 Bottles of Sam Adams beer, any saurkraut and polska kielbasa PEELED! Eat alone or put on a fresh hard roll. If you only use beer, you'll know you're missing something! I make this all the time this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I used some of everyone's suggestions! Browned the sausage fast on high in an iron skillet, threw it in the crockpot. Cooked 1/2 an onion and 3 cloves of garlic minced in the hot pan for about 5 minutes and added that. Added about a tablespoon of caraway seeds, a healthy squirt of honey and one of spicy mustard. And don't forget the apple! This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Absolutely loved it! I doubled the sauerkraut and beer(light beer). Otherwise there is a lot more meat than kraut. Easy and delicious! Did not add a thing! Try it first before you doctor it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Made this yesterday and was happily pleased. I had to make a few changes, due to the amounts on hand. I had 3 lbs of lite kielbasa, 2 lbs of fresh bagged sauerkraut, (which I rinsed then squeezed out the excess water). Because of that, I used 2 bottles of Miller Genuine draft, following others suggestions that darker beers were too overpowering of a flavor. In the cockpot, I mixed about a tablespoon of grainy mustard with the beer, since I had no caraway seeds to try. Added a squeeze of honey, some fresh cracked black pepper and 3 bay leaves. Sauteed a small red onion, thinly sliced, and garlic in a pan, then added that. Then sauteed the kielbasa until just starting to brown, then mixed that in and let it roll for 6 hours on low. I found it not to be mushy at all, or the meat to be spongy at all, like some others complained of. It was delicious, very filling and great for the rainy evening. I served it in a bowl with some roasted garlic mashed potatoes and it had a really nice flavor. Will definitely make this again. (Side note--used one of those crock pot liners, which is essentially a baking bag. Easier clean up sounded great to me, but it busted! I still got juice all in the pot. Ah well, it was worth a try.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I brought this to work and everyone loved it. I browned the kielbasa and then transferred that to a plate. In the same pan, I browned 1 chopped sweet apple with a chopped onion and then added 1 T of minced garlic. Threw it all in the slow cooker with 1 T of honey and let it do it's thing. I'm not a big fan of kielbasa, sauerkraut or beer but even I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is very good (if you like this kind of thing). I've been making the slow cooker kielbasa stew (on this web site) and I think I like the addition of the beer vs. the chicken broth. I do think that adding an apple is essential to take the "tart" out of the sauerkraut. Very good, thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made this for my fiance during his Raiders playoff game. Usually, he finds something he doesn't like about first-time recipes like 'too salty', etc. He did nothing but rave about it and had three helpings with mustard and tobasco on top throughout the day (a new record). I used Rogue Oregon Golden Ale which is a nice medium hoppy pale ale. (Sierra Nevada Pale Ale would also be good as well) He is all excited to try different beers in this recipe. I'll be making it often and it's SO easy. I set it on Low for 8 hours but stopped it after 5 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Very good bavarian style meal. I used 1 lb turkey smoked sausage and 1 lb. turkey kielbasa. It made it lighter and no one knew until I had told them afterwards. It was not oily as other reviewers mentioned. Also added garlic and onion to the crockpot and cooked 5-6 hrs on low. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I made this last night and my family loved it! My 11 month old couldn't get enough of the kielbasa.The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the modifications I made. Following fellow reviewer advice, I browned the kielbasa, doubled the beer, added spicy mustard, a bay leaf and onions and garlic. I used a 28oz can of sauerkraut and felt that that was more than enough. Next time I will use a smaller can. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Very popular among the men in my family (and friends too). I bet this would also good w/ polish sausage, venison or bear sausage (for you ladies who have men who hunt and are in need of new ways to prepare it). Loved the ease of this recipe - will make it again and I too might try it w/ various sausages! Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States