Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Although i'm not a huge sauerkraut fan, this was pretty good. I too read other reviews and decided to brown the sausage for about 5 minutes first, then add some sauteed onions and garlic. Used 2 cans of 14oz sauerkraut instead of recommended amount (didn't seem like enough) Coors Light beer, a splash of dijon mustard, splash of honey, and simmered on low for about 5.5 hours. Pretty good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Nothing terribly special but it tasted good. I added a squirt of spicy brown mustard and simmered it on the stovetop for a little over an hour. I think cubed potatoes might be a good addition next time to give it a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Maybe I did something wrong, but I did not like this recipe at all. While the flavor of the dish was nice the texture of the keilbasa was very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I added one squirt of spicy mustard and 1 squirt of honey to it and a little extra beer than called for. My husband was in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very good, and super easy! I incorporated others' suggestions and added sauteed onion and garlic, honey mustard, honey, apple cider vinegar, and caraway seeds. I also tossed in some sliced mushrooms. This did not turn out mushy. I would not take the casings off the sausages - I think they would fall apart. I served this with applesauce and baked potatoes - had I planned ahead, I think german potato salad would have gone with it nicely. I will add that I used fresh polish sausage. Most of the photos appear to be of smoked. (The recipe didn't specify which to use.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
loved it! We added a bunch of spices and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I really missed something with this. I am such a food lover I can't believe I'm giving anything 1 star...but the reality is, bar-b-q kielbasa on a roll with sauerkraut piled high and an ice cold beer would have been just as simple and tastes a lot better. I really don't get all the rave reveiws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this for my parents, who love saurkraut and they really, really loved it! We served it over mashed potatoes and it was SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Eh. Not good, but not horrible either. For one, the finished product was terribly unappealing.... My kraut was very, very brownish, as if I overcooked it (???) - even though I only cooked on low for 5 hours as directed. Since I had some smoked sausage in the fridge that was about to expire I decided to give this recipe a try. I "really" wanted to make kielbasa alfredo or island kielbasa (both here on Allrecipes), but my fiance didn't particularly care for either (sigh...), so we both agreed on this. I'd much rather have had plain ol' sauerkraut and sausage sans the extras (I added a good dose of honey and stone ground mustard, 1/2 T caraway seeds and half of a chopped (peeled) GrannySmith apple as others suggested) and cooking method. My only change (other than adding the extra ingredients) was to halve everything because I only had 1 lb. of sausage. My choice of beer was Budweiser (I am from St. Louis, after all!!!). Served over garlic mashed potatoes with rye bread on the side, this was a decent meal, but not one I'd repeat again. Thanks anyways :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I wasn't going to rate this because I screwed it up BIG time!! I loved every aspect of this recipe but my love for beer got the better of me. :O( I had only one kielbasa and a big jar of sauerkraut. I added some brown mustard, a bit of horseradish, some of this and some of that and 2 bottles of Mehana Porter. The beer is a wonderful local Micro brew but when cooked in this recipe made the it taste so bitter that after trying several things to save it, just gave up and though it out. Big Bummer Dude! I'll try it again sometime so don't make my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States