Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Other reviewers have left some very good suggestions on how to improve this recipe. I added garlic and onion, stone-ground mustard, and a little honey. Tasty with redskin potatos and sour cream. 3 stars w/o additions; 4 with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I like kielbasa. I like beer. I don't like this. I just might try this again only with chicken broth. When trying a recipe for the first time I like to follow it exactly and after that make changes that are more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This one's only okay, simply because what makes this recipe good or bad is the type of sausage you get. The first time I had it, I bought the real deal--big german brats. They tasted wonderful. The family loved it and wanted me to make it again. When I made them the second time, I used a normal sausage, and they were much too oily! I couldn't even begin to eat the kraut after it'd been sitting in that oil all day. Yicch! So I guess my best advice is to go for the best possible sausage, not too fatty, or you will pay for it when it's done cooking. In either case, the meat was very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Made this yesterday and was happily pleased. I had to make a few changes, due to the amounts on hand. I had 3 lbs of lite kielbasa, 2 lbs of fresh bagged sauerkraut, (which I rinsed then squeezed out the excess water). Because of that, I used 2 bottles of Miller Genuine draft, following others suggestions that darker beers were too overpowering of a flavor. In the cockpot, I mixed about a tablespoon of grainy mustard with the beer, since I had no caraway seeds to try. Added a squeeze of honey, some fresh cracked black pepper and 3 bay leaves. Sauteed a small red onion, thinly sliced, and garlic in a pan, then added that. Then sauteed the kielbasa until just starting to brown, then mixed that in and let it roll for 6 hours on low. I found it not to be mushy at all, or the meat to be spongy at all, like some others complained of. It was delicious, very filling and great for the rainy evening. I served it in a bowl with some roasted garlic mashed potatoes and it had a really nice flavor. Will definitely make this again. (Side note--used one of those crock pot liners, which is essentially a baking bag. Easier clean up sounded great to me, but it busted! I still got juice all in the pot. Ah well, it was worth a try.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I thought this was just ok. I prefer to have my kielbasa fried or grilled instead of cooked like this. And I'm not sure what the beer did for it. I'm glad I tried this, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLIVIAC15163

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugheston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
What an effortless, great tasting recipe this is! I made this for supper tonight using leftover smokies. I will definitely be making this one again; the husband loved it!! This goes great with the Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes on this site. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was delicious. I used beer brats instead and took the suggestion for adding brown sugar and mustard. Perfect with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I made this last night and my family loved it! My 11 month old couldn't get enough of the kielbasa.The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the modifications I made. Following fellow reviewer advice, I browned the kielbasa, doubled the beer, added spicy mustard, a bay leaf and onions and garlic. I used a 28oz can of sauerkraut and felt that that was more than enough. Next time I will use a smaller can. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was some really good kielbasa. The beer and sauerkraut taste wonderful. No slow cooker, so just simemred on the stove top for a while. Did brown the sausage just a little first. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Great recipe.Everybody loved it,No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States