Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
First thing, I love sauerkraut. I like my sauerkraut on the sweet side and this was more on the tart side. I would make the original recipe first. You can then make changes to suit your taste. As others suggested I may add some brown sugar or apple juice. Maybe throw in an apple! I will make again b/c it is easy and I love sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
After reading other reviews I added a small amount of diced onion and potato. I also added 1/8 cup brown sugar and only 1/4 can of beer. The beer is definately a distinct taste in this recipe. I liked it but my kids won't touch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Excellent and super easy. Everyone at our Oktoberfest party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Great, easy recipe! Add german potato salad and it's a feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was a good recipe but I also made some of the suggested modifications. I placed the sauerkraut and beer in the slow cooker. Then I added a sliced and peeled apple, some garlic, a bit of honey and some peppercorn mustard (about a tablespoon of each). I browned the Kielbasa on the stove and placed it on top of the sauerkraut mix and let it sit on low for about 5 hours. The end result was delicious. I served this with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I love German food and I tried this one last year. Now every couple of months or so, I start craving it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Very good bavarian style meal. I used 1 lb turkey smoked sausage and 1 lb. turkey kielbasa. It made it lighter and no one knew until I had told them afterwards. It was not oily as other reviewers mentioned. Also added garlic and onion to the crockpot and cooked 5-6 hrs on low. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This recipe is really good with some tweaking. I suggest eating it on rolls so you end up eating more of the sauerkraut, because that's the part that usually goes to waste. Definitely brown the kielbasa first and check its texture an hour before the slow-cooking time is up, to your liking. Mine has come out very soggy/mushy if I cook I the entire time. But tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Watertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Other reviewers have left some very good suggestions on how to improve this recipe. I added garlic and onion, stone-ground mustard, and a little honey. Tasty with redskin potatos and sour cream. 3 stars w/o additions; 4 with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I like kielbasa. I like beer. I don't like this. I just might try this again only with chicken broth. When trying a recipe for the first time I like to follow it exactly and after that make changes that are more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States