Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I'm sorry, but this wasn't for me. Maybe I used the wrong kind of beer? Maybe a stout or a porter or something would have been better. This was just blah. I much prefer kielbasa in the slow cooker with just sauerkraut and NO beer. Or, boiling it in ginger ale first and then into the slow cooker with sauerkraut is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this recipe and even did what some reviewers suggested and added honey, peeled the sausage, and added apple cider vinegar. My husband thought the sauerkraut was overpowering and I thought it was the beer. We just couldn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Crowson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I did brown the sausage in my cast iron skillet like someone had suggested. Then added onions, kraut and caraway. Threw in to slow cooker with leftover champagne and chicken broth (gluten free here). Delicious was exactly the taste i was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I basically follow the recipe. I use Slovenian and Polish kielbasa, New Castle beer (I used Sam Adams first, but the New Castle just kinda compliments it in my opinion), add some mustard and a few spices, and leave out the sauerkraut (just not a fan). It's a staple in this house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srogale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
My family adored this recipe. Like everything I cook I added extra seasonings and it pleased even the people that don't like kraut. Nice simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Horack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I really enjoyed this as it is simple and tasty! Made a few additions...placed thinly sliced onion and apple on bottom of crock pot. Placed kraut and kielbasa on top and poured one Guiness Beer on top. Also added a few cloves of chopped garlic. Cooked on low for 4 hours and served on top of cauliflower mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it exactly according to the directions using an amber lager. I did not like it all all and the boyfriend only thought it was okay. The beer definitely overpowered the sauerkraut flavor. The second time I made it, I used an apple cider. I also added a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard, a tablespoon of Apple cider vinegar (cooking for two, so the recipe was halved) and a chopped Apple. This time, the recipe was FABULOUS. I will be making the modified version again. As is without modification, this is a 2-3 star recipe. Good for a basis to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Made this the other day. It was good but maybe need to add some seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The men folk loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States