Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS HAVE A BACK UP READY!,EVERYTHING TASTED TO MUCH LIKE BEER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great! I used Budweiser...turned out great! Also threw in a chopped onion, a bay leaf, some caraway seed and spicy mustard. I used Schwan's Frozen Polish Sausage (fully cooked) and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I thought this was just okay. I doubt I would make this again. The beer I used was a bit strong and over powered the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Super good recipe. I threw the kielbasa on the stove to brown it, tossed it in the slow cooker with the bag of kraut, squirted in a hefty dallop of dijon mustard, dropped in a can of beer, and thought about it all day at work. Next time I think I will cut up an apple to lessen the tart from the kraut. Will definitely keep in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
We like others like to doctor a recipe to suit our tastes. We browned the kielbasa with some garlic cloves before adding them to the crock pot. I thinly sliced an onion and added it to the crock pot as well, along with some brown sugar. We used a generic beer that my husband likes. Turned out good, but I think that a better beer - like maybe a Sam Adams Honey Brew would be good. His beer - although great for his bitter german beer tastes is acceptable - didn't do it for me as I am not much of a beer drinker. It was tastey though and different! Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggieSuzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
First of all, you have to like the taste of beer (my husband does, me..not so much). I decided to try the recipie as a change from my usual kielbasa and saurkraut recipe. To make this as a dinner for 4, I put 8 small/medium red potatoes in the bottom of the crock pot, then 1 (20 oz) can of saurkraut (drained and rinsed well), sprinkled 1 Tbsp of brown sugar over the saurkraut, then 1 lb turkey kielbasa cut in 2" slices. I cooked 1 onion cut in small chunks and 1 tsp minced garlic in a small amount of olive oil till the onion was slightly tender, then added the onion and garlic to the crock pot. I poured 1 (12 oz) bottle of beer over it all and cooked it as directed. It turned out great and my family loved it. Next time, I will add another Tbsp of brown sugar and maybe a sprinkle of caraway seeds to the saurkraut to add more flavor (or to disguise the beer flavor a bit more for my tate). This recipe is worth a try if you llkes kielbasa, saurkraut and beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I should have read the reviews before making this dish. I cooked it exactly as the recipe said, and the Kielbasa did not brown at all. It didn't have much flavor and the saurkraut was pretty gross. If I make this again, I will put the other ingredients in to cook with this and definitely brown the kielbasa before putting it into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe is awesome! So easy and so delicious. The entire house smelled so good and we looked forward to the meal all day. I was going to alter this quite a bit as others here suggested but my husband was convinced it would be great just as the original recipe states. So, all I did was cook up a few onions and garlic to mix in. That was the only thing I did differently. We used a bottle of Guinness. PERFECT! I'm glad I listened to my husband and kept it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made this for Superbowl, along with a pierogi recipe from this site, and it was a big hit. From experience, I think the lighter the sauerkraut the less sour the taste. Also, if you rinse it first in water, it will also decrease some of the sour taste. I liked the addition of the apple. I hadn't heard of that before. I used 2 different types of sausage from the Polish market near us. We all preferred a darker smoked sausage in this dish. I've found that, depending on the sausage, sometimes you need to boil and/or brown it first to remove the greasiness of it. Especially if you use the American brands found at the grocery stores. You don't need to do that so much with a smoked sausage. I think if you seek out better sausage from a specialty market, the dish tastes better. Easy for me to say since we live within a big Polish community. Definitely recommend it with the "Grandma's Polish Pierogies" recipe found on this site, but be prepared for alot of work for that dish. Luckily, this one was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
My husband thought this was the best ever! I, too, browned the kielbasa first, with about half an onion, minced garlic and just a touch of butter. To the beer, I added about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 beef boulion cubes, before adding it to the crockpot. What a delicious way to squeeze beer into my husbands food pyramid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States