Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My husband loved this..I gave it 4 stars because I am not a kraut lover. However, I did take the tip about adding some brown sugar and Dijon mustard. I used a mild beer, Pauley Girl, and I think it could have been a little stronger. I also added onion. This is a good recipe and I will use it again because my guy really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
There are a couple of things you need to know before making this.... First and foremost... It will not make 16 servings... not even close.. I only used one pound of kielbasa and a 22 oz. jar of sauerkraut and it made just enough for my wife and I. We ate the whole thing. Second, if you use two pounds of kielbasa, you will have a lot more meat than you need for the 20 oz. can of sauerkraut. I used a dark beer and it gave it a stroger taste than I wanted so next time, I'll use a light beer. Aside from that, the meal was great. I gave it five stars 'cause I like sauerkraut and kielbasa together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Came out perfect first time I tried it. Very simple and easy to prepare. Whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is a 4-star recipe ONLY if you do the following: Add 1/2 cup of honey mustard, 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar, 2 Bottles of Sam Adams beer, any saurkraut and polska kielbasa PEELED! Eat alone or put on a fresh hard roll. If you only use beer, you'll know you're missing something! I make this all the time this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Awesome, easy dish that my whole family loved. I made 2 different crocks of it, used a light beer in one, a dark stout in the other. The dark beer made it awful! Use light beer and don't overcook it~ previous reviewers complaining about it being soggy may have left it in too long. Great, fast recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I served this on French Sour Dough Rolls with a slice of Swiss on top...and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I was EXTREMELY disappointed with this recipe. I was hoping for a new twist on the sausage and sourkraut I usually prepare, but found this to be soggy as other reviewers said. My recommendation is to cook your sausage in a skillet, add sourkraut and heat till warm, then drink your beer with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stilwell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This recipe is Awesome!!!! I added a large onion and a bay leaf. My whole family loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Delicious meal! Use a quality brand beer as it really gives it flavor. I served it with spaetzle, a traditional German pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Perfect for a cold autumn evening. I used turkey polsa kielbsa and this was still good. My one year old could not get enough of the sausage. Took another reviewer's tip and served with potato pancackes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States