Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I should have read the reviews before making this dish. I cooked it exactly as the recipe said, and the Kielbasa did not brown at all. It didn't have much flavor and the saurkraut was pretty gross. If I make this again, I will put the other ingredients in to cook with this and definitely brown the kielbasa before putting it into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe is awesome! So easy and so delicious. The entire house smelled so good and we looked forward to the meal all day. I was going to alter this quite a bit as others here suggested but my husband was convinced it would be great just as the original recipe states. So, all I did was cook up a few onions and garlic to mix in. That was the only thing I did differently. We used a bottle of Guinness. PERFECT! I'm glad I listened to my husband and kept it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made this for Superbowl, along with a pierogi recipe from this site, and it was a big hit. From experience, I think the lighter the sauerkraut the less sour the taste. Also, if you rinse it first in water, it will also decrease some of the sour taste. I liked the addition of the apple. I hadn't heard of that before. I used 2 different types of sausage from the Polish market near us. We all preferred a darker smoked sausage in this dish. I've found that, depending on the sausage, sometimes you need to boil and/or brown it first to remove the greasiness of it. Especially if you use the American brands found at the grocery stores. You don't need to do that so much with a smoked sausage. I think if you seek out better sausage from a specialty market, the dish tastes better. Easy for me to say since we live within a big Polish community. Definitely recommend it with the "Grandma's Polish Pierogies" recipe found on this site, but be prepared for alot of work for that dish. Luckily, this one was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
My husband thought this was the best ever! I, too, browned the kielbasa first, with about half an onion, minced garlic and just a touch of butter. To the beer, I added about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 beef boulion cubes, before adding it to the crockpot. What a delicious way to squeeze beer into my husbands food pyramid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was okay and it was eaten. Nobody, but me complained. Most likely, I didn't do something right. I will try it again so I can make sure this is how I truly feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I brought this to work and everyone loved it. I browned the kielbasa and then transferred that to a plate. In the same pan, I browned 1 chopped sweet apple with a chopped onion and then added 1 T of minced garlic. Threw it all in the slow cooker with 1 T of honey and let it do it's thing. I'm not a big fan of kielbasa, sauerkraut or beer but even I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this with little smokies and a bottle of heineken. Turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
First thing, I love sauerkraut. I like my sauerkraut on the sweet side and this was more on the tart side. I would make the original recipe first. You can then make changes to suit your taste. As others suggested I may add some brown sugar or apple juice. Maybe throw in an apple! I will make again b/c it is easy and I love sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
After reading other reviews I added a small amount of diced onion and potato. I also added 1/8 cup brown sugar and only 1/4 can of beer. The beer is definately a distinct taste in this recipe. I liked it but my kids won't touch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Excellent and super easy. Everyone at our Oktoberfest party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States