Slow Cooker Italian Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe is a keeper. I used leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. Doubled the worcestershire sauce because we like the zing. I toasted some hamburger buns with some cheese on them in my toaster oven and strained off the extra liquid from the meat. Made a delicious sandwich. The meat had a wonderful flavor. I'll be making this recipe for years to come! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
The meat was moist but didnt seem to pick up a lot of flavor from the broth. I made a gravy out of the broth and topped the sandwich with that and some mozz.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was awesome and so easy!! My kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe! If you think this is bland or pasty, then I might suggest checking your cooking times and/or crock pot settings. In our crock pot, this comes out moist with the consistency of actual italian beef. Melt a little bit of mozzarella on a hoagie and you have a very healthy alternative to the real deal. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Cooked x 8 hrs - smelled great, but had no flavor & had a pasty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Our family has been trying some healthier alternatives for dinners and this one is a keeper. My husband is really picky and he raved about this. I did add one tablespoon extra of worsteshire sauce and used red onion. Other people have said this recipe was bland but we did not find this to be the case. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn busch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was OK - a little bland, but not bad. Next time I'll put in a little more oregano and worshire to punch up the flavor some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I thought this recipe was really good. A great way to use turkey breasts. The meat was so tender, moist and flavorful. I prepared it exactly as the recipe stated and put it on an italian roll with shredded cheese. I've been eating the leftovers all week for lunch. A little turkey goes a long way with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I must disagree with the first reviewer of this recipe. I found it quite tasty. Now bear in mind that it is not as good as a real Chicago Italian beef sandwich. It is however a reasonably good healthy substitute. After reading the first review I had really low expectations for the recipe but I pressed on as I adore Italian beef sandwhiches and longed for a substitute that would fit in with the healthy lifestyle that I've adopted since I left Chicago for LA. As the first reviewer noted it smelled great as it cooked. I left it slow cook for a little more than 10 hours (not much like 10 hours and 15 minutes) and it was very nicely tender and the flavors of the other ingrediants had penetrated nicely into the meat. I tasted it right out of the cooker and I definitely did not feel like it was bland. My plan was to eat these sandwiches for lunch this week so I packed up a container of the meat (with peppers, onions and juice), a whole wheat French role, and, yes, a container of cheddar cheese and hot peppers. I reheated the meat at lunch, put it the French role and covered the meat with the Cheddar and hot peppers - just like Portillos - and took a bite. I thought it was great. I will definitely use the other half of the Turkey breast to cook this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This smelled really good while cooking, but was surprisingly bland. My husband added some cheese to his sandwich (melted/nuked briefly in the microwave) to try to punch it up a bit, but ended up not even finishing. There would have to be some major tweaking to make this work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States