Slow Cooker Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Trust this recipe! I looked at my 16 oz jar of pepperochini and thought "that just looks ridiculous." Don't think about it, don't drain it, just add it all in. In fact, when you buy the italian dressing packet, go for the zesty one. As recommended, I lightly brushed olive oil on a hard roll and sprinkled with garlic powder before toasting (425 for 8 minutes). Throw some creamy horseradish on the bun, chop up those pepperochini and toss them on the meat and top with provolone, and you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Very good and much like "Chicago Italian Beef," but like other reviewers thought it was way too salty. Will definitely make it again but will use low sodium beef broth and much less salad dressing mix. I'm assuming the salt content of the salad dressing mix and/or the olives in the pepperoncini might be the culprit. Will check labels before I make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I cook meat for my family just about every day, but I honestly dont' eat it.(I do taste tho) Nothing political or health related; just don't care for it. However, this dish is one big WOW FACTOR! I kept taking fork fulls all night! I decided to use pork tenderloin with this and it was amazing. It literally melted in your mouth. I like a lot of liquid, so I used the juice from the peppers and used three cans of low sodium beef broth and only a half a packet of the seasoning. (didn't want it to be too salty) Also threw in a sliced onion plus my own seasonings. This is a winner Casey and I thank you for submitting it, but I'm begging you to give it a try with the pork. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Everyone liked it and a couple people requested the recipe, but I agree that it's a little too salty. After making it several more times, I've found that using reduced sodium beef broth makes it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was really good. Even better with crusty rolls that have been toasted and brushed with olive oil. Then load on the meat and cover with mozzarella cheese and broil for a couple of minutes. My husband raved! We also topped ours with roasted red peppers and mild banana peppers. Yum! Warning: this makes a LOT of meat. I used only 3.5 pounds, fed 5 people the first time, made leftovers for 3 tonight and have at least 6 more servings in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
These were easy to make as I just did mine on top of the stove, however, the salt content has to be reduced. My hands and legs were so swollen after eating. Way too salty. Because of this, I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
EXCELLENT! My husbands favorite sandwich is a french dip and he couldn't stop raving when I made these. I didn't add the pepperocini's because I feared the kids reactions and they were still great. I made a butter and garlic spread and toasted it on my roll before adding the beef and it was delicious. Not exactly low sodium, but a great treat. I have a feeling my husband will request this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I was skeptical at first when I read people comparing this recipe to Chicago style Italian Beef Sandwiches. This recipe is awesome! it has a great tangy flavor and sooo easy!! Tips: use low salt broth, and I only put half the jar of pepperocini in and that seemed like more than enough. My husband is picky and he liked it! oh and I'm feeding it to my family from Chicago this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This beef recipe rocks!!! I followed others advice and added 2 packs of dressing mix and beef broth. I buttered onion rolls put a slice of mozz and provalone on top of the beef threw them in the broiler and perfection. what a tasty easy meal. Thanks casey our family loved them!!!!!!!yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddievedderandme

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My family absolutely loved this recipe!!!! We are from Chicago and Italian Beef is serious business for us! My hubby is very very picky about his beef and this was a major hit! I used a low sodium deli roast beef and low sodium beef broth. It was perfect. It was in the slow cooker longer than an hour. I think about 1 1/2 hours. I also picked up some hot giardiniera to put on our sandwiches. It was yum yum yum!!! It was much less greasy than ordering it from somewhere. This is going to be a staple in our house from now on. So easy to make. It took me less time to put in the cooker than it would have to wait for our sandwiches to be ordered and made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColeV25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States