Slow Cooker Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I have been making a different version of this recipe for a while now but instead of on the stove, I cook in the crock on LOW for 8-10 hours. Also, add a can of beer! Serve on toasted french bread with provolone cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Wecht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These sandwiches are so good! I like salty food though so had no problem with the recipe as it was written. I did take the suggestion of brushing the rolls with olive oil and toasting them under the broiler. And as the final topper, a piece of melted provolone. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was great. We made it a couple of times before we reached the "perfect" stage. We made it in the slow cooker and it required about 50 min. on high. About halfway through we re-tossed the beef and peppers in the crock pot. We also used the Zesty Italian dry dressing. As someone else suggested we also brushed the hogie rolls in olive oil and toasted on our grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
These were so easy, fast & really good! I did 1/2 pound of meat, 3 peppers, 1 can of reduced sodium beef broth & little of the Italian salad dressing b/c I was worried about making too spicy. It really had a KICK to it & was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this on the cooktop instead of a slow cooker with sliced Angus roast beef from the deli. It was surprisingly like the Chicago style Italian beef I grew up with. Now if I could only find the right rolls it would be perfect! (Oh, it was also very easy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
We added less of the actual peppers, but almost all of the juice....and about a tablespoon of Worchestershire sauce. Since we were doubling the recipe, I just used one can of beef broth and one can of water. It still tasted awesome, and wasn't overly salty. The husband was highly impressed, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
So easy and SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is soooo awesome. We make this for all kinds of occasions& sometimes we just have for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I cook meat for my family just about every day, but I honestly dont' eat it.(I do taste tho) Nothing political or health related; just don't care for it. However, this dish is one big WOW FACTOR! I kept taking fork fulls all night! I decided to use pork tenderloin with this and it was amazing. It literally melted in your mouth. I like a lot of liquid, so I used the juice from the peppers and used three cans of low sodium beef broth and only a half a packet of the seasoning. (didn't want it to be too salty) Also threw in a sliced onion plus my own seasonings. This is a winner Casey and I thank you for submitting it, but I'm begging you to give it a try with the pork. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States