Slow Cooker Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very easy to do, but would definitely would put more roast beef in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I thought that the roast was a little bland. I only used 1/2 of the Italian seasoning packet. I think that next time I'll use the whole packet. The roast was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I discovered this recipe a year or so ago, and it has become part of my regular meal rotation. My boyfriend LOVES it. I'd give it five stars except that I've discovered a few changes that for me make it even better. I chop an onion in half and add it to the slow cooker along with about 6 peeled garlic cloves. I use about double the broth and about a quarter the amount of pepperoncini, if even that. When it is finished cooking, I strain the liquid and put it in a pot. I boil it to reduce it until there is about 2 or 3 cups of liquid left. This makes the au jus just outstanding. A secret: I have actually usually made this with pork instead of beef, because pork tends to be cheap where I live and I often buy a large pork loin that I can get 4 or 5 meals out of. It's equally good with either meat. Toasting the buns in the oven and buttering them is a MUST. One last tip: I don't like to let this cook too long. I find it much tastier when the meat stays together in slices. If it cooks long enough to be shredded it is too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was a total hit! This is now a regular on our menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Delicious! My whole family loved it. Only I changed a couple things, I cooked it in my slow cooker (on low) for about four hours, I added a package of Au Jus mix, I used the zesty Italian dressing mix and I used Italian roast beef. I served it on hot rolls with Swiss cheese. YUMMY! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a huge hit. Even my 8yr old often picky eater LOVED it.. I did serve it on wheat hoagies with melted provolone on top and WOW.. I will be making this often. In the future, I'll cut back on the juice in the peppers (maybe use half a jar instead) and just add extra broth because, I would have liked a tad bit less tang. I can't think of any other improvements because this is a very good recipe especially for the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very tasty, did not last very long at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I agree with the other posts that this recipe is very salty. I used half a dressing packet and reduced sodium broth, and it was still slightly too salty for my taste. My deli has reduced sodium roast beef, if I try to tweak this recipe I'll use that instead. Also, I purchased higher priced angus roast beef that was rare and tender. Cooking the roast beef made it tougher than when I tasted it right when I brought it home. Buy the cheapest roast beef for this recipe since it won't make the end result better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Great recipe! When I put something new in front of my husband, I don't say anything and wait to see if he makes a comment...he did and said it was good! So I'll keep this one in my file. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The only changes I made to this recipe was I used a 12oz jar of peppers and a 16oz can of broth, because those are the sizes I could find. This recipe was delicious! I didn't think it was too salty at all. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States