Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I've tried several recipes for italian beef and this was a huge hit! After reading the reviews, I did substitute beef broth for the water and used 2 packets of dry italian seasoning. I stir fried some onions, peppers and mushrooms and served with a mayo/wickles relish mix on italian deli bread. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Loved this...Like other reviewers used a 2.5 pd CHUCK roast, cooked for 8 hours, pulled it out and shredded it, put it back in with a green pepper and pepperchini's. Used 2'x the dressing mix and same quantity of all other spices. My American/Italian guests not only went back for 2nds but couldn't stop talking about it. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Me and my family loved this meal I will make it all the time yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I was disappointed. Followed all the instructions, even extra seasonings and used beef broth like others recommend. We felt it was bland and way too much bread. Would probably enjoy the roast without hoagie rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This was the best. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes. When finished I drained and cooled the liquid then peeled off the fat cap. Then added back to the shredded beef. Poker pals went crazy over it. Being a guy, I like simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Excellent recipe! Will be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent recipe definitely will quinch your hunger for a Portillo's or Al's italian beef which I grew up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My boys really liked this and I was able to give it to them for lunch the next day in their thermos over rice. We ate it for dinner over rice, and will eat it later in the week in the sandwich. After reading all of the reviews, I need to go to Chicago to try these sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Love this recipe, and I make it often! I followed previous suggestions to double the seasonings (except the salt), using beef broth instead of water, and used either onion powder or dried onions instead of onion salt. For those with IC, you might substitute thyme for the black pepper (if you can't tolerate it), leeks for the onion salt, a homemade Italian dressing seasoning (and leave out the onion), and an organic or homemade beef broth/stock. Seems to work well for me, anyway, though I know everyone's triggers are different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
One of my standbys!! Whole family loves it! Being from Chicago and living in Indiana we miss the Chicago Italian Beef! This recipe definitely rates right up there with the best! My secret weapon... Add a 16 oz jar of Pepperoncini peppers, undrained!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Keenan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States