Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I give it a 4 but DH gives it a 2 thus the 3 star rating. DH likes things with LOTS of flavor and this meat has a mild flavor. Not bland, just mild. I made it specifically to make cheese steaks so the mild flavor was perfect for me with caramelized onions, mushrooms, and cooper sharp cheese! YUM - but if you want lots of flavor you should probably look for another recipe or maybe add some hot peppers and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Used a 2.5 lb roast as suggested with the same amount of spices/other ingredients. 4 stars as is. Added a couple of sliced jalapenos from the garden after the meat was shredded and it made a HUGE difference. SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I got this recipe from this site a while back and have made it multiple times. I followed the recipe without change except for I use what ever roast is on sale. I only used rump roast at first but found other cuts of meat are also delicious. I just made this yesterday using chuck roast and it was awesome. I just suggest let it get cold and skim off the fast before serving. How could that reviewer say it was bland? I gave it 5 stars.LenBla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I thought this was bland. My chuck roast was just over 2-1/2 pounds, but I used all the measurements of ingredients for five pounds as called for in the recipe. I took the advice of some others and omitted the salt. Beef broth was used in place of water, and I used two packets of salad dressing mix. It cooked on low for about 8-1/2 hours. I then took out the meat to shred, and found that it was very bland - tasted like a regular beef roast to me. I added the salt plus more garlic powder, oregano, and pepperoncini (about 4 mild with juice), then cooked it on low for about another hour. It was much better after that, but there is still something missing. Next time I make this (and I WILL make it again), I will add hotter pepperoncini right at the beginning, and maybe add a little crushed red pepper. I'll also double up on all the seasonings. Maybe there was too much liquid for this size roast? Maybe my seasonings are too old? This recipe has a lot of potential. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this twice now. The first time, I made it exactly as written… The second time, I took advice from other reviewers- No salt, beef broth instead of water, chuck roast, two packages of zesty Italian seasoning. I am just not impressed, no matter what I do. To me, it doesn't taste like an italian beef at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Follow all the recommendations you'll find here to zing this up a little, use beef chuck roast, double the spices, and cook in broth instead of water. My one caution is to be careful about the salt levels when doing all of that, because you might end up over-salting a bit like I did. Next time I will go for reduced sodium beef broth and skip as much salt as possible in the spices (for instance, probably can't do much about the Italian dressing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this an gonna make it again, me an my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made it for my son and daughter-in-law for a quick meal after they had their first child ~ rave reviews. Making it again for them and us. (Used "LF" 's tips except for the green pepper.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was wonderful! I used a chuck roast instead of rump and it was really tender, and the taste was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Another good recipe that's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States