Slow Cooker Island Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
It tastes great, looks wonderful and is easy to prepare and clean up after, what more could you want? I used canned diced tomatoes because I didn't have enough fresh ones. Also used up the can of beef broth to cook the rice in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Excellent! Everyone enjoyed this! The only change I made was leaving out the peppers (due to an allergy in the family, but I would like to try it with them another time!). I might add a little more stock next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Just realized that this recipe was published after I reviewed it as a personal recipe. It was so good that I want to review it here too. This is a great recipe. I couldn't stop eating it! I followed it as written. Thanks for sharing. I can't wait to try it again with company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This gets more than 5 stars from my family. I was loved by all. I bought 2 chuck steaks on sale at Target to make the stew meat. Used a fresh pineapple & low sodium beef broth. Only had a green pepper, but this rocks! Husband said next time add mushrooms. I did leave out the tomato, the rest of the family isn't fond of them. This recipe will be in the rotation from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious and easy. This one is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
5 Stars because it's a good, simple, delicious recipe. A keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is good and the flavors come together nicely. I used low sodium broth and soy sauce and served over brown rice for a healthy and colorful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Hello Everyone, this is my recipe and I would like to add that you could easily use more cornstarch depending on how thick you prefer the sauce. Also, using drained diced canned tomatoes instead of fresh works very well in this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made this for dinner yesterday, but cut it down to 3 servings as there is only the two of us. Followed the recipe exactly except that I did not have any red wine vinegar so substituted Creamy Sherry wine in it's place and that turned out fine. Also chopped the onion and used canned diced tomatoes. Will be makeing again. Thanks Cat Lady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was a great dish! My whole family loved it...really enjoyed the sweet and sour flavors of this meal. 2 mini changes .....first was to use a london broil instead of stew meat. The other change was to use a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of the fresh as suggested by Cat Lady herself. I originally was going to make this with chicken ...but glad to have tried the beef....great combo of flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States