Slow Cooker Island Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
5 Stars because it's a good, simple, delicious recipe. A keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
It tastes great, looks wonderful and is easy to prepare and clean up after, what more could you want? I used canned diced tomatoes because I didn't have enough fresh ones. Also used up the can of beef broth to cook the rice in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is good and the flavors come together nicely. I used low sodium broth and soy sauce and served over brown rice for a healthy and colorful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Super easy and flavorful. Not a bad weeknight meal. My hubby and I spiced ours up at the table with a little Sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
We all enjoyed this very much. I did make a couple of minor changes. I didn't have alot of soy sauce, so I put in half of what it called for. Didn't have any tomatoes so I left them out. Cooked for about 4 hours and it was done. The meat was extremly tender. Would add more meat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
It looked pretty and smelled good but it was tasteless. I made it with rice and warm french bread. Everyone said how good the bread was. I got the hint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
my family (including me) did not love this :( we didn't even save the leftovers. I think the pinapple overtook everything else. Maybe would be better with chicken instead of beef?? I won't be making it again... oh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This gets more than 5 stars from my family. I was loved by all. I bought 2 chuck steaks on sale at Target to make the stew meat. Used a fresh pineapple & low sodium beef broth. Only had a green pepper, but this rocks! Husband said next time add mushrooms. I did leave out the tomato, the rest of the family isn't fond of them. This recipe will be in the rotation from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Hello Everyone, this is my recipe and I would like to add that you could easily use more cornstarch depending on how thick you prefer the sauce. Also, using drained diced canned tomatoes instead of fresh works very well in this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I pressure cooked this meal. I did step one, sealed it up and pressure cooked it for 35 mins on high (this was in an electric cooker). I depressureized, then followed step 2 and put it back on for 10 mins. I added about 3 times the amount of corn starch than it called for -- and it was still a bit thin. It came out great and I would do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States