Slow Cooker Hungarian Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It was really nasty. I threw it out and called for pizza. Better luck to someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I am not so sure I like this. I made a huge batch. I substituted V8 and tomatoes for the canned tomatoes and that may have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
We liked this. Even with the addition of the carrots and celery it was bland, but perhaps that is how Hungarian goulash is supposed to taste. I'm considering adding some spice, but what? for next time, maybe more smoked paprika?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this recipe as submitted, and it was a bit bland. The addition of carrots and celery is a very good idea and I will try it next time. Along with twice the paprika and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
2/9/14 wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
The meat was tender, the way I like it. What it lacked was flavor, lots of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very good. My boys loved it and its great because the one with only 5 teeth could eat too with almost no extra prep (save cutting his noodles in half). I subbed ground beef, added celery and a little grated carrot that had on hand. Two other adult family members enjoyed it, too! I found I should have doubled the amount of pasta, though. Would add either more garlic salt or use regular salt in addition, next time, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
this recipe was quite bland for my taste. follow as stated except added chopped garlic and kosher salt instead of garlic salt. 2 star for easy will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I would give this recipe 4.5 stars if I could. I think it's a really good base for an even better goulash. I followed the recipe exactly as stated, with the addition of some fresh carrots, celery and leaves, parsley, and oregano (partly for texture and added veggies, and partly because these were things that I needed to use up in my fridge :D). I added the carrots and celery in with the beef and onion, and coated all of that with the flour mixer, and then mixed everything else in and give it a light stir. I also used smoked paprika, just for a little something different. The recipe, with the addition of the few things I added, was just enough "sauce" for one pound of pasta, which is approx. 4c of dry elbow macaroni. Unless you are really trying to stretch this meal, I think 7c of pasta (as listed in the original ingredient list) is a little excessive; but you could always add more liquid to create a thinner "sauce". We preferred the thickness of the sauce just as it was once the sour cream was added in, it was perfect for us. Also, I cooked this on high for 5hrs (stirring it once during that time), then after 5hrs added the sour cream and let it cook on high for another 30min, then turned it off with the lid on for another 30min or so. This was a really easy meal that I was able to let cook in the crock pot all day on Sunday while I did my cleaning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I definitely enjoyed this recipe. I added egg noodles about 20 minutes before I added the sour cream and it turned out wonderful. Great flavors with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States