Slow Cooker Hoppin' John Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I'm afraid I don't see the need for putting this in a slow cooker for 6 hours. Everything is cooked and I would think that a 30 min slow simmer on top of the stove would blend the flavors perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
We loved this! I cooked all ingredients (except the rice) as directed with the beef broth and no water added. I was afraid the rice would get "starchy" in the slow cooker all day. Just before serving I cooked the rice in beef broth, put a scoop in each soup bowl and topped with the peas. My husband and I ate on this all week long till the leftovers were gone. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
A very good crockpot recipe. I replaced the white rice with 2 1/2 cups of cooked brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This makes an enormous amount of food - to the top of the slow cooker! I would use frozen black eyed peas next time and low sodium beef broth to cut down on the salt content. Very filling and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was a little concerned about this having much flavor with no spices or anything really, but it turned out amazing. I have to say I did change it up a little big. I did add one whole large green pepper. I used only two cans of beans in fear that it would be far too many beans. I added 3-4 diced garlic cloves and cooked them with the onions and beef. I also served it over rice instead of adding it to the crock pot. I don't really like my rice all soggy like that. It was amazing. I really really loved it so much. It was a nice meal for us on a cold winter night. Very hearty. I am looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZINELIZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I've changed the recipe a bit in that I don't cook the rice first, I use hot italian sausage instead of ground sirloin, and instead of diced tomatoes with green chiles I use diced tomatoes with jalepenos, plus sometimes some more for good measure. Way to spicey for me (heat can easily be regulated), but my husband loves it. I make up a big batch and freeze into meal size portions for him to take for lunch. Healthier and cheaper than a meal out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
REALLY GOOD,I ADDED A LITTLE CAJUN SEASONING TO IT,IT REALLY SPICED IT UP..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This was very good! I used black beans instead of black-eyed peas and only 1 cup of rice. We served it with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Sorry to break the good streak here, but I really didn't like this. I was able to finish up the leftovers, so it's not a 1 rating, no. But it just seemed very bland, and even though I tried to start adding things to zing it up, it just never quite made it in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was so good and so easy! I used 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes, and added brown rice to the bowls before serving rather than adding rice to the slow cooker. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlavender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States