Slow Cooker Hoppin' John Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Blackeyed peas can sometimes be bland. There's nothing bland about this recipe. It's delicious. I make it every New Year's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This was very good! I used black beans instead of black-eyed peas and only 1 cup of rice. We served it with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was a little concerned about this having much flavor with no spices or anything really, but it turned out amazing. I have to say I did change it up a little big. I did add one whole large green pepper. I used only two cans of beans in fear that it would be far too many beans. I added 3-4 diced garlic cloves and cooked them with the onions and beef. I also served it over rice instead of adding it to the crock pot. I don't really like my rice all soggy like that. It was amazing. I really really loved it so much. It was a nice meal for us on a cold winter night. Very hearty. I am looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZINELIZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Another great recipe for the slow cooker!!!!Perfect as is,just had crackers on hand and served them with this meal. Thanks so much!-Peggy in TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
We loved this! I cooked all ingredients (except the rice) as directed with the beef broth and no water added. I was afraid the rice would get "starchy" in the slow cooker all day. Just before serving I cooked the rice in beef broth, put a scoop in each soup bowl and topped with the peas. My husband and I ate on this all week long till the leftovers were gone. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I added some smoked sausage, substituted one Hot Rotel for the regular (to spice it up) but didn't add the rice and served it New Year's Day for "good luck". Everyone loved it!!! My boyfriend even woke up for his midnight snack and had another bowl...will definitely serve this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
A very good crockpot recipe. I replaced the white rice with 2 1/2 cups of cooked brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
REALLY GOOD,I ADDED A LITTLE CAJUN SEASONING TO IT,IT REALLY SPICED IT UP..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I was really looking forward to making this dish, was waiting for a cold night. Made this yesterday and had for dinner. My husband & myself both loved this. Followed recipe to a T except used black beans and brown rice. This makes a ton too...great for leftovers. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Delicious thick chowder. My family loved it. I just stirred in the rice dry with the rest of the ingredients. No need to cook it ahead of time. Wonderful flavors. Don't be worried the tomatoes with green chiles will be too spicy -- it's not and it gives it an awesome boost in flavor. We'll make this again and again. Oh, it does make more than 6 servings. It filled my large crockpot to the very brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States