Slow Cooker Hoppin' John Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I'm afraid I don't see the need for putting this in a slow cooker for 6 hours. Everything is cooked and I would think that a 30 min slow simmer on top of the stove would blend the flavors perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
We loved this! I cooked all ingredients (except the rice) as directed with the beef broth and no water added. I was afraid the rice would get "starchy" in the slow cooker all day. Just before serving I cooked the rice in beef broth, put a scoop in each soup bowl and topped with the peas. My husband and I ate on this all week long till the leftovers were gone. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
A very good crockpot recipe. I replaced the white rice with 2 1/2 cups of cooked brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This makes an enormous amount of food - to the top of the slow cooker! I would use frozen black eyed peas next time and low sodium beef broth to cut down on the salt content. Very filling and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was a little concerned about this having much flavor with no spices or anything really, but it turned out amazing. I have to say I did change it up a little big. I did add one whole large green pepper. I used only two cans of beans in fear that it would be far too many beans. I added 3-4 diced garlic cloves and cooked them with the onions and beef. I also served it over rice instead of adding it to the crock pot. I don't really like my rice all soggy like that. It was amazing. I really really loved it so much. It was a nice meal for us on a cold winter night. Very hearty. I am looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZINELIZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I've changed the recipe a bit in that I don't cook the rice first, I use hot italian sausage instead of ground sirloin, and instead of diced tomatoes with green chiles I use diced tomatoes with jalepenos, plus sometimes some more for good measure. Way to spicey for me (heat can easily be regulated), but my husband loves it. I make up a big batch and freeze into meal size portions for him to take for lunch. Healthier and cheaper than a meal out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
REALLY GOOD,I ADDED A LITTLE CAJUN SEASONING TO IT,IT REALLY SPICED IT UP..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This was very good! I used black beans instead of black-eyed peas and only 1 cup of rice. We served it with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Sorry to break the good streak here, but I really didn't like this. I was able to finish up the leftovers, so it's not a 1 rating, no. But it just seemed very bland, and even though I tried to start adding things to zing it up, it just never quite made it in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was so good and so easy! I used 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes, and added brown rice to the bowls before serving rather than adding rice to the slow cooker. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlavender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States