Slow Cooker Hoppin' John Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Delicious thick chowder. My family loved it. I just stirred in the rice dry with the rest of the ingredients. No need to cook it ahead of time. Wonderful flavors. Don't be worried the tomatoes with green chiles will be too spicy -- it's not and it gives it an awesome boost in flavor. We'll make this again and again. Oh, it does make more than 6 servings. It filled my large crockpot to the very brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I was really looking forward to making this dish, was waiting for a cold night. Made this yesterday and had for dinner. My husband & myself both loved this. Followed recipe to a T except used black beans and brown rice. This makes a ton too...great for leftovers. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
REALLY GOOD,I ADDED A LITTLE CAJUN SEASONING TO IT,IT REALLY SPICED IT UP..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
A very good crockpot recipe. I replaced the white rice with 2 1/2 cups of cooked brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
If I could give this 4.5 stars I would. This was a good dish and I will be making it again. It makes a ton of food!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I also added minced garlic and some creole seasoning because it seemed a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I'm afraid I don't see the need for putting this in a slow cooker for 6 hours. Everything is cooked and I would think that a 30 min slow simmer on top of the stove would blend the flavors perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I've changed the recipe a bit in that I don't cook the rice first, I use hot italian sausage instead of ground sirloin, and instead of diced tomatoes with green chiles I use diced tomatoes with jalepenos, plus sometimes some more for good measure. Way to spicey for me (heat can easily be regulated), but my husband loves it. I make up a big batch and freeze into meal size portions for him to take for lunch. Healthier and cheaper than a meal out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This was pretty bland and more like a soup or stew instead of chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Sorry to break the good streak here, but I really didn't like this. I was able to finish up the leftovers, so it's not a 1 rating, no. But it just seemed very bland, and even though I tried to start adding things to zing it up, it just never quite made it in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States