Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I'm choosing not to post stars as to throw off the rating, but frankly, I was disappointed. Not in the sauce, which tasted wonderful, but in the fact the beans never finished cooking! I think the bottom line is to follow the advice of a previous reviewer & soak + boil before slow cooking. The allrecipes site has an advice section, which addresses the issue, I've pasted it below. Time your Seasoning For the most part, you can go ahead and add spices, seasonings and aromatics to your pot o' beans when you start cooking them, but there are a few things that you should never add until the end: salt, and anything acidic, like tomato products, lemon juice, wine and vinegar. Salt will toughen the skins of the beans, and acids can keep beans from ever getting soft. Once your beans are tender, you may add these ingredients to your heart's content. I'm coming back to let you know I've tried this recipe again, but soaked the dry beans overnight, simmering in the morning till soft. Worked beautifully! I will use this recipe's ratios in the future, but those beans are being cooked first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Re: Beans that are still hard after 18 hours This has happened to me in the past. I couldn't figure out why, until I heard a radio cooking show explain it. The ACID in the tomatoes prevents the beans from cooking thoroughly. The radio cook suggested not adding acid ingredients until after the beans are cooked. I always follow that advice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
NO SOAKING, NO BOILING. I just rinsed the beans and cooked them on High in the Crock-Pot with 8 cups of water for 6 hours. Then I added all the other ingredients and they were hassle-free and perfect! I did not add the 1 1/2 cups of Water; used only 1/2 cup Brown Sugar; no mustard; no bacon (didn't have). These were the best baked beans I have ever tasted, will make them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is a very good recipe. I soaked the beans overnight-10 hours and boiled them for 30 min to an an hour so they were soft enough.DO NOT SKIP THE BOILING or you will be cooking them forever and wondering why they don't get soft. Older beans take longer so if they are fresh 30 min may be enough. Also do not add salt until cooked it also prevents the beans from getting soft. They were not dry and the ratio of tomato to molasses was perfect. I gave 4 stars instead of five because they are a lttle too sweet because of the ketchup. So next time I pureed a can of tomatoes instead, so a cup of pureed tomatoes and half a cup of ketchup and used half the brown sugar recommended. They were still sweet but much less so. If I have it I add a smoked ham hock. Gives it a delicious smokey taste and the meat just falls off the bone. My husband doesn't like beans but likes it cooked with a ham hock. In addition you can cook them for about 5 hours on high if you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Followed advice from previous reviews. Soaked beans overnight almost 12 hours. Then brought beans to a boil and then simmered on low for one hour before putting in crock pot. Followed reciped exactly, sauce was excellent. Cooked 4 hours on high and then 2 hours on low. Beans were perfect. OH! to avoid sauce being to watery I put paper towels over the crock pot before putting the lid on to absorb condensation that gathers. I do that on alot of my slow cooker meals to avoid watery sauces, etc. Will definetly make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
My Mom found these too sweet so instead of 1.5 c ketchup I used 3/4 c tomato puree and 3/4 c ketchup. Not so sweet. I agree with the previous review they are perfect otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This was the first time I made baked beans, but this recipe is the best! No need to try any other recipes. Nice sweet molasses flavour! I soaked the beans overnight and cooked the recipe in my slow cooker for 9 1/2 hrs (It wasn't quite ready at 8 hrs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
After reading the reviews, I altered the recipe a bit and they turned out just fine. I actually did the "quick soak" method on my beans...boiled them for a few minutes, and then left them sitting in the covered pot for an hour before draining them and putting them in the crock pot with the bacon, onion and seasonings. I coked them on "high" for 4 hours, until they were moderately tender, then added the ketchup and cooked on low for another six hours. I also cut the brown sugar in half, since others mentioned it was too sweet. Next time I wouldn't though...because I kind of like mine a little sweet. Overall, good recipe, but it did seem like something was missing..and I just couldn't place it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is a great one. In the past three months I have used this recipes three times. I was a homerun each time. Whats great is their is a small amount of prep work the night before(its worth it). Finally put it all together the next morning! Thanks For the Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made sure the beans were basically cooked before I added any other ingredients. I rinsed then quick-soaked them (add beans to hot water and boil for 2 minutes, then leave in hot water with cover on for 1 hour). After the quick soak, I put them in my pressure cooker for 3 minutes on high pressure with natural pressure release. I added a few tablespoons of oil to the water in the pressure cooker to keep the skins from getting tough (a tip from my pressure cooker cookbook). They were very tender before I added the other ingredients. Cooked on low for 7 hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States