Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was my first attempt at make homemade beans. I pretty much follows the instructions except my beans cooked for 12 hours. Otherwise the flavor and taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I also soaked my beans overnight and in the morning boiled for 1 hour. They came out great. oh yeah I didn't have any molasses so i used light corn syrup and they tasted great! **update- I cheated once and used a bottle of BBQ sauceand they weren't as good as the origional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Oh My, these were the best! The hubby and kids loved them. Not too sweet for us. I followed the suggestion of 8oz of water and cooking on low for 6 hours. I drained all but approxmately 1/2 cup of "broth", then I added the all of the ingredients and cooked for about 1 more hour. Finally I baked in the oven on 350 for another 45 minutes. Wow I should have made these for July 4th. Well next time, no next week. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These were absolutely wonderful - my bean loving husband, says these are the best he's ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
As long as you follow the advice below so that the beans are fully cooked...or do the recipe exactly, but refrigerate and eat a few days later, this a definite 5-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made them several times and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
PERFECT not-baked baked beans recipe. Exactly what I had a craving for. The only change I made was using Goya ham-flavored powder (two packets) instead of bacon to cut down on fat/calories. And, because I own the world's fastest slow cooker, I only cooked it for eight hours on low, and it was already starting to stick to the bottom of the pot. Seven hours probably would have done it. But for a normal slow cooker, the timing in the recipe should be right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe couldn't be any easier! A cinch to make for a pot luck or family get together! Had family get together and these were a hit! Made the recipe as written except I soaked the beans overnight AND boiled for an hour right before I put them in the crock pot. It took a full 10 hours of cooking, but I got perfect bean texture. This does not disappoint! Move over Bush Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good! Make sure to add enough water if you only partially cook beans before adding to crock pot or they'll never get done! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Sharon Dunkerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Terrific!! Do make sure to cook the beans first. I add beans and 8 cups of water to a slow cooker and cook for 8 hours or until soft, then add the other ingredients (minus the extra water). I tried the stated method one time, and the beans never really softened. Other changes: reduced sugar to 1/3 cup, omitted salt, reduced bacon. My new standard recipe for baked beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States