Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My first time making home made beans and they were delicious - I've shared the recipe with others already. I soaked over night and boiled as per the instructions of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I don't really care for baked beans, but I'm bringing them to a work picnic and this was the recipe I decided on. Based on time, I soaked them for about an hour, then boiled them for about an hour (without any salt or acid!) and then put them in the crock pot. They turned out fantastic and even I ate them. My husband keeps asking me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
TLEFURGEY, thank you for this recipe. Delicious! Prepared exactly as noted. I did boil the beans as per numerous posters. Everyone loved them and will be making again for a party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Followed previous reviewers' advice and added salt at the end. Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Also put a piece of paper towel on the inside of the lid, which made beans thick and not soupy. Ended up needing to add a 1/2 cup of water at the end, as they got too thick! Beans tasted good if not slightly flat at the end of cooking. Added a Tbsp. Dijon mustard at the end with my salt, as well as a splash of cider vinegar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Did the overnight soak in the crock pot..over 8 hours was almost too long. Threw everything in the pot at the same time. Terrific taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Quite sweet. Takes a long time to cook, on low it took about 18 hours. Easy and low maintenance to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is terrific! So easy and so so delicious! I doubled it because I was going to two 4th of July picnics and I'm known as the "bean lady"! So what else would I take! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
i subbed 2 large cans of small white beans since i was short on time and needed dinner for many.... i mixed all ingred except beans in slo cooker and added canned beans 30 min before finish and wah la! done and delish in just 3 hrs!! used high cook mode on sauce for 3 hrs..... very happy with flavor and texture of beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vienna, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
My husband loved this so much he raved about it on his Facebook status update! :) I soaked the beans and boiled them, so they were pretty soft before I combined all of the ingredients in the crockpot, thus cutting down my time to 5 1/2 hours. I also went a little shy on the sugar, because I don't like very sweet baked beans. They are AMAZING! Tangy, sweet, thick . . . scrumptious. We are stealing bites out of the pot, even though they are for dinner tomorrow! Will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have made these and many baked beans on the stove and in a crockpot. Please, please don't add salt until the very end of the cooking cycle. When they were still hard, I cooked one batch of beans literally for 5 days trying to see if they would ever get soft, and that's when I read any salt toughens them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Munoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States