Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So much better than canned! Used only 4 slices of bacon has that's all I had, and it was plenty. Also used half the salt, which I added towards the end with the ketchup because salt and tomatoes can keep beans from softening. Also increased water to 2 cups to make sure beans were covered in crockpot. Before placing in crock, I used this method to reduce gas: place beans in 6 cups cold water and nothing else, bring to a boil and boil ten minutes. Remove pot to sink, do NOT drain, add 1/4 baking soda and stir like crazy until all foam is gone. Rinse beans well, then place in crock and continue as directed. Left on low overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wow-these baked beans are incredible, this is one I'll be using many times in the future when grilling out or even on a wintry Sunday. Incredibly easy and uses only a few ingredients which I always have on hand. I did exactly as others suggested with fantastic results; namely both soaking the beans overnight and then simmering at a slow boil for an hour in the morning before throwing in the crockpot. If you do this then just add the other ingredients and let it go for 8 hours on low, be sure to stir every now and then-don't wait to add the ketchup/salt as the sauce literally comes together like fine wine over the duration of time. While it might seem a bit sweet initially, after slow cooking for 8 hours it all comes together and is simply perfection-I'm a person who likes spicy sauces and I'd not add a thing to this, nor change the composition. Kudos for this one, it's truly simplicity and perfection in one-I'll not be buying anymore canned beans! (this is FAR less expensive than canned beans, a single package of beans fixes a whole pot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyOSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe in a 6 qt. crock pot using 1 pkg each navy beans and lima beans (totaled 6 cups). Soaked x8 hrs then boiled x 1 hr. Placed in crock pot then doubled everything in the recipe except ketchup (used 2 cups total) and brown sugar (kept 1 cup). Added a smoked ham shank. The beans were amazing and the house smelled delish. They were not too dry and we got many compliments!! This is a great recipe to feed a crowd when making burgers and dogs on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love this recipe..it is so easy and delicious. Much better than can pork and beans that you have to doctor up..it also hold up well in the fridge for a week or more...thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
These were fantastic for 4th of July! However I am giving them only 4 stars because I added Worchestshire sauce and BBQ sauce because what are beans without it! But super good recipe! Making it again for Labor Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Love these beans! Definitely need to boil the beans first, or they'll never soften. Boil for about an hour with just water (no salt!). Advice I got from my mom: when you can smash a bean between your fingers, then you know it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great, a hit with non-bean lovers! I followed it exactly, but next time may reduce sugar and ketchup just to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have been looking for a bean recipe for some time and came upon this one. After checking the star rating and reading some of the reviews, I decided it was a good recipe to try. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. After 13 hours the beans still have not cooked through and the sugar level is through the roof and therefore not fit to consume. I have tried many recipes from this site and this is the first time that I was unhappy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Delicious! The first time I made them I only soaked the beans and it came outh fine, the second time it took over 12 hours for the beans to soften. Since dried beans apparently aren't consistent, I now soak and cook the beans first. I use smoked salt, or a little liquid smoke in the beans. I've also started adding a generous splash of whiskey about 1/2 hour before serving - yum!!! My friends now request "my" famous baked beans for all our cookouts - thanks for sharing, TLEFURGEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Not bad. I soaked the beans overnight and then simmered for about an hour. Cooked in slow cooker overnight. The bean were cooked, but not mushy -- perfect. My issue is with the sauce. It was ok, but tasted like ketchup. Next time, I will try a recipe that doesn't use ketchup as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States