Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good flavor but for some reason the beans did not get soft after 8 hours in the crock pot! I even soaked them in water over night :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did soak overnight & boil the beans for about 45 minutes before I put into the crockpot. Be sure to cover with enough water the night before, they soak up a LOT of water. Also put into an extra large pot with enough water when boiling. I put in the exact amount of ingredients called for. They were good & made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used the No soaking, no boiling method. I left out the dry mustard. Otherwise this was so good!!! And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I won't make this again. They are sickeningly sweet, lack flavor and even after soaking the beans overnight then boiling for an hour, a few remain crunchy. I added vinegar, prepared mustard, KC Masterpiece BBQ Seasoning and BBQ sauce in an attempt to cut the "sweetness" and add some flavor. I must admit, they taste better, but we won't be finishing the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
These were pretty good. Scaled brown sugar way down (to about half what was called for) and baked in the oven after giving beans a brine pre-soaking and then simmering beans for about an hour (my crockpot died and moved on to a better place). Still a little sweet, but I'm not complaining (grin). Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made these for my daughters birthday bbq and everyone LOVED them. It was my first time making homemade baked beans and it was a huge relief that I picked an accurate recipe to try. I did follow other suggestions and cook my beans a bit before adding the other ingredients. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I soaked the beans overnight and then put them in the crock pot on low; After a few hours I switched it to high as the beans seemed very hard. They were on high for about 6 hours. Long story short, I never served them as they never got soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I tried these yesterday, they were great! I boiled the beans for 2 hrs., and soaked all night. I added the rest of the ingrediants and after 4hrs. in the crockpot they were ready to eat. I don't have to buy Bush's anymore. I highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
only changes I made were pintos instead of navy beans and 1/3 cup brown sugar. good flavor but still too sweet for my tastes, I'll try 1/4 cup of brown sugar next time. otherwise happy to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I liked the sauce a lot but am in agreement with the ones that suggested cooking the beans first. I tried this recipe several times without cooking them first and the one time they never did soften. I will use this recipe but like some of the others have mentioned I will cook the beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States