Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
FANTASTIC! I omitted the bacon, added a few tablespoons of real maple syrup (cut back a bit on the brown sugar), and a few drops of smoke flavoring. I'm going to make this recipe for a party this weekend! Loved it! I have heard that Napa Cabbage is good in baked beans...I think this is a great recipe to give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I've done versions of this recipe a few times now and every time my beans turn out awesome! I've done it without the bacon most times and I use less ketchup and a can of diced tomatoes instead to make it a bit less sweet and still get the tomato goodness. I also add real maple syrup to the mix. Fabulous recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were ok....I don't review recipes that are basically completely reworked before they are reviewed. I won't be making again..Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I have never done baked beans in the slow cooker before but these are great. I soaked my beans over night and boiled them on the for an hour in the morning before adding them to the slow cooker. They were not to soft or hard it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Went well with my family. You do need to soak beans and then boil them. They still were a bit tough in the end, so i would recommend soaking over a whole day and not just overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by friday13th777

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The beans tasted great,but they took alot longer than 8 hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My first time making beans other than opening a can!! I soaked them overnight and then boiled them for about 20min, because I was worried after reading everyones advice. I cooked them on high by accident in the crockpot...so they were done a little early. Put them in at 9:30am and we were eating some at 3pm. (be careful they don't dry out on high...add water if it looks like this is happening) I also waited to add the ketchup and salt until the end! Very Important! Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. A giant waste of time and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Great recipe! My first time making slow cooker beans and my husband loved them. Said they were the best beans he's ever had. I did puree a can of tomatoes instead of using ketchup and also cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Did not cook after 8 hours. Let it go for 10 hours. Still no good. Then the sauce started to get too tangy and headed toward bitter. Then I dumped it out. Now I'm looking for a new recipe. Yich. Obvious glitches which I now see after a bit of study: have to pre-soak beans. Ketchup (acid) and salt do bad things to beans that don't let them slow cook properly. Also, this was a soupy mess, much too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States