Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The sauce on these beans is truly delicious. Yes, I would make this recipe again. However, though I try hard not to change a recipe the first time I make it, I gagged at the thought of using a whole cup of brown sugar, so I reduced it to 1/3 cup, and the sweetness level was perfect. Based on the many complaints on this site about tough beans, I also precooked the beans at a roiling boil for 50 minutes before draining them and putting them in the slow cooker. They STILL came out a bit hard after 10 hours on low. I cooked the beans another 4 hours on high, and then they were perfect. Gracious, they're just these little Navy beans--you wouldn't think they would need so much cooking time. Your cooking experience may be different, but the beans ARE good, and I like the fact that there is no precooking of the bacon. Quick to prepare and delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I thought these were good, but not awesome. My kids would not eat them, sadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe was great. I soaked them overnight & boiled them for 45 minutes and then followed the recipe pretty close. I added about 1/4 cup more molasses and cooked them on high in the crockpot for 6 hours. The beans were still kind of hard so next time I will boil them for longer and maybe cook them for longer in the crockpot. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Hard to rate this. I did an overnight soak with the beans, then crock-potted them for over 9 hours, and almost ALL of them were STILL not done. However, the flavor was pretty good. I used about 3/4 cup of the brown sugar and no bacon, though, and that came out pretty good. However, I still thought it was just a little bit sweet (I do not care for sweet bakes beans), and the molasses gave it too thick of a texture, so I'd probably use like, 1-2 tablespoons of it next time I make these (which I'd like too, once I cook the beans for a week!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I second the reviews statin that the beans were still rather tough when soaked overnight and then mixed with the other ingredients for cooking. I had to both soak and then boil the beans before they were soft enough to go in the crock pot. I made some very minor changes to the ingredients: I used leftover Christmas ham instead of bacon, freeze dried onion instead of fresh, and Splenda brown sugar (1/2 cup, obviously, since it measures differently than real brown sugar). The sauce was excellent. I'm sure I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Huge hit! I do soak the beans overnight and use tomato paste instead of ketchup. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good flavor but for some reason the beans did not get soft after 8 hours in the crock pot! I even soaked them in water over night :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did soak overnight & boil the beans for about 45 minutes before I put into the crockpot. Be sure to cover with enough water the night before, they soak up a LOT of water. Also put into an extra large pot with enough water when boiling. I put in the exact amount of ingredients called for. They were good & made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used the No soaking, no boiling method. I left out the dry mustard. Otherwise this was so good!!! And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I won't make this again. They are sickeningly sweet, lack flavor and even after soaking the beans overnight then boiling for an hour, a few remain crunchy. I added vinegar, prepared mustard, KC Masterpiece BBQ Seasoning and BBQ sauce in an attempt to cut the "sweetness" and add some flavor. I must admit, they taste better, but we won't be finishing the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States