Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Delicious as is. I've made it many times and didn't change anything. Boiled the beans for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
So good! As per other reviewers I soaked overnight AND boiled them for around an hour. Also, I added the salt at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I love this recipe. I have never made homemade beans before and I loved these. Tasted exactly like the brown beans I love!! I added a bit of special spice I had at home and used maple bacon but apart from that I followed the recipe and they were perfect. A great beginner recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I would like to rate this a 4.5. I followed the recipe , except I also boiled the beans for 30mins after soaking overnight and before placing in the slow cooker, and I added 1TBSP of liquid smoke, and omitted salt, and (wow I guess the minor changes sound like alot but they arent) I used 2/3lb of bacon instead of 6 slices, next time will just use the whole pkg, yummeh! I cooked them on HIGH for 10 hours and the beans still were a bit tough. So, next time I will boil the beans for 1hr or 1.5hrs before placing in the crockpot. With that being said the "sauce" is to die for. Exactly why I love beans exactly x10. I will never and I mean NEVER buy another can of baked beans again!!!! And for the price difference alone. The canned beans were always good but now I can't look at them the same!!! This recipe is a keeper with the minor alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nv_jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The sauce on these beans is truly delicious. Yes, I would make this recipe again. However, though I try hard not to change a recipe the first time I make it, I gagged at the thought of using a whole cup of brown sugar, so I reduced it to 1/3 cup, and the sweetness level was perfect. Based on the many complaints on this site about tough beans, I also precooked the beans at a roiling boil for 50 minutes before draining them and putting them in the slow cooker. They STILL came out a bit hard after 10 hours on low. I cooked the beans another 4 hours on high, and then they were perfect. Gracious, they're just these little Navy beans--you wouldn't think they would need so much cooking time. Your cooking experience may be different, but the beans ARE good, and I like the fact that there is no precooking of the bacon. Quick to prepare and delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I thought these were good, but not awesome. My kids would not eat them, sadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe was great. I soaked them overnight & boiled them for 45 minutes and then followed the recipe pretty close. I added about 1/4 cup more molasses and cooked them on high in the crockpot for 6 hours. The beans were still kind of hard so next time I will boil them for longer and maybe cook them for longer in the crockpot. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Hard to rate this. I did an overnight soak with the beans, then crock-potted them for over 9 hours, and almost ALL of them were STILL not done. However, the flavor was pretty good. I used about 3/4 cup of the brown sugar and no bacon, though, and that came out pretty good. However, I still thought it was just a little bit sweet (I do not care for sweet bakes beans), and the molasses gave it too thick of a texture, so I'd probably use like, 1-2 tablespoons of it next time I make these (which I'd like too, once I cook the beans for a week!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I second the reviews statin that the beans were still rather tough when soaked overnight and then mixed with the other ingredients for cooking. I had to both soak and then boil the beans before they were soft enough to go in the crock pot. I made some very minor changes to the ingredients: I used leftover Christmas ham instead of bacon, freeze dried onion instead of fresh, and Splenda brown sugar (1/2 cup, obviously, since it measures differently than real brown sugar). The sauce was excellent. I'm sure I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Huge hit! I do soak the beans overnight and use tomato paste instead of ketchup. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States