Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I thought these were good, but not awesome. My kids would not eat them, sadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe was great. I soaked them overnight & boiled them for 45 minutes and then followed the recipe pretty close. I added about 1/4 cup more molasses and cooked them on high in the crockpot for 6 hours. The beans were still kind of hard so next time I will boil them for longer and maybe cook them for longer in the crockpot. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Hard to rate this. I did an overnight soak with the beans, then crock-potted them for over 9 hours, and almost ALL of them were STILL not done. However, the flavor was pretty good. I used about 3/4 cup of the brown sugar and no bacon, though, and that came out pretty good. However, I still thought it was just a little bit sweet (I do not care for sweet bakes beans), and the molasses gave it too thick of a texture, so I'd probably use like, 1-2 tablespoons of it next time I make these (which I'd like too, once I cook the beans for a week!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I second the reviews statin that the beans were still rather tough when soaked overnight and then mixed with the other ingredients for cooking. I had to both soak and then boil the beans before they were soft enough to go in the crock pot. I made some very minor changes to the ingredients: I used leftover Christmas ham instead of bacon, freeze dried onion instead of fresh, and Splenda brown sugar (1/2 cup, obviously, since it measures differently than real brown sugar). The sauce was excellent. I'm sure I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I make this for every pot luck (including upcoming Chritmas dinner) I go to and they are always a hit. I only use about 1/4 cup brown sugar, otherwise they are way too sweet. I soak the beans overnight and have never had a problem with them being hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good flavor but for some reason the beans did not get soft after 8 hours in the crock pot! I even soaked them in water over night :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did soak overnight & boil the beans for about 45 minutes before I put into the crockpot. Be sure to cover with enough water the night before, they soak up a LOT of water. Also put into an extra large pot with enough water when boiling. I put in the exact amount of ingredients called for. They were good & made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used the No soaking, no boiling method. I left out the dry mustard. Otherwise this was so good!!! And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I won't make this again. They are sickeningly sweet, lack flavor and even after soaking the beans overnight then boiling for an hour, a few remain crunchy. I added vinegar, prepared mustard, KC Masterpiece BBQ Seasoning and BBQ sauce in an attempt to cut the "sweetness" and add some flavor. I must admit, they taste better, but we won't be finishing the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
These were pretty good. Scaled brown sugar way down (to about half what was called for) and baked in the oven after giving beans a brine pre-soaking and then simmering beans for about an hour (my crockpot died and moved on to a better place). Still a little sweet, but I'm not complaining (grin). Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States