Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Hard to rate this. I did an overnight soak with the beans, then crock-potted them for over 9 hours, and almost ALL of them were STILL not done. However, the flavor was pretty good. I used about 3/4 cup of the brown sugar and no bacon, though, and that came out pretty good. However, I still thought it was just a little bit sweet (I do not care for sweet bakes beans), and the molasses gave it too thick of a texture, so I'd probably use like, 1-2 tablespoons of it next time I make these (which I'd like too, once I cook the beans for a week!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I second the reviews statin that the beans were still rather tough when soaked overnight and then mixed with the other ingredients for cooking. I had to both soak and then boil the beans before they were soft enough to go in the crock pot. I made some very minor changes to the ingredients: I used leftover Christmas ham instead of bacon, freeze dried onion instead of fresh, and Splenda brown sugar (1/2 cup, obviously, since it measures differently than real brown sugar). The sauce was excellent. I'm sure I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I make this for every pot luck (including upcoming Chritmas dinner) I go to and they are always a hit. I only use about 1/4 cup brown sugar, otherwise they are way too sweet. I soak the beans overnight and have never had a problem with them being hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good flavor but for some reason the beans did not get soft after 8 hours in the crock pot! I even soaked them in water over night :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did soak overnight & boil the beans for about 45 minutes before I put into the crockpot. Be sure to cover with enough water the night before, they soak up a LOT of water. Also put into an extra large pot with enough water when boiling. I put in the exact amount of ingredients called for. They were good & made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used the No soaking, no boiling method. I left out the dry mustard. Otherwise this was so good!!! And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I won't make this again. They are sickeningly sweet, lack flavor and even after soaking the beans overnight then boiling for an hour, a few remain crunchy. I added vinegar, prepared mustard, KC Masterpiece BBQ Seasoning and BBQ sauce in an attempt to cut the "sweetness" and add some flavor. I must admit, they taste better, but we won't be finishing the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
These were pretty good. Scaled brown sugar way down (to about half what was called for) and baked in the oven after giving beans a brine pre-soaking and then simmering beans for about an hour (my crockpot died and moved on to a better place). Still a little sweet, but I'm not complaining (grin). Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made these for my daughters birthday bbq and everyone LOVED them. It was my first time making homemade baked beans and it was a huge relief that I picked an accurate recipe to try. I did follow other suggestions and cook my beans a bit before adding the other ingredients. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I soaked the beans overnight and then put them in the crock pot on low; After a few hours I switched it to high as the beans seemed very hard. They were on high for about 6 hours. Long story short, I never served them as they never got soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States