Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I would like to rate this a 4.5. I followed the recipe , except I also boiled the beans for 30mins after soaking overnight and before placing in the slow cooker, and I added 1TBSP of liquid smoke, and omitted salt, and (wow I guess the minor changes sound like alot but they arent) I used 2/3lb of bacon instead of 6 slices, next time will just use the whole pkg, yummeh! I cooked them on HIGH for 10 hours and the beans still were a bit tough. So, next time I will boil the beans for 1hr or 1.5hrs before placing in the crockpot. With that being said the "sauce" is to die for. Exactly why I love beans exactly x10. I will never and I mean NEVER buy another can of baked beans again!!!! And for the price difference alone. The canned beans were always good but now I can't look at them the same!!! This recipe is a keeper with the minor alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nv_jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The sauce on these beans is truly delicious. Yes, I would make this recipe again. However, though I try hard not to change a recipe the first time I make it, I gagged at the thought of using a whole cup of brown sugar, so I reduced it to 1/3 cup, and the sweetness level was perfect. Based on the many complaints on this site about tough beans, I also precooked the beans at a roiling boil for 50 minutes before draining them and putting them in the slow cooker. They STILL came out a bit hard after 10 hours on low. I cooked the beans another 4 hours on high, and then they were perfect. Gracious, they're just these little Navy beans--you wouldn't think they would need so much cooking time. Your cooking experience may be different, but the beans ARE good, and I like the fact that there is no precooking of the bacon. Quick to prepare and delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I thought these were good, but not awesome. My kids would not eat them, sadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe was great. I soaked them overnight & boiled them for 45 minutes and then followed the recipe pretty close. I added about 1/4 cup more molasses and cooked them on high in the crockpot for 6 hours. The beans were still kind of hard so next time I will boil them for longer and maybe cook them for longer in the crockpot. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Hard to rate this. I did an overnight soak with the beans, then crock-potted them for over 9 hours, and almost ALL of them were STILL not done. However, the flavor was pretty good. I used about 3/4 cup of the brown sugar and no bacon, though, and that came out pretty good. However, I still thought it was just a little bit sweet (I do not care for sweet bakes beans), and the molasses gave it too thick of a texture, so I'd probably use like, 1-2 tablespoons of it next time I make these (which I'd like too, once I cook the beans for a week!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I second the reviews statin that the beans were still rather tough when soaked overnight and then mixed with the other ingredients for cooking. I had to both soak and then boil the beans before they were soft enough to go in the crock pot. I made some very minor changes to the ingredients: I used leftover Christmas ham instead of bacon, freeze dried onion instead of fresh, and Splenda brown sugar (1/2 cup, obviously, since it measures differently than real brown sugar). The sauce was excellent. I'm sure I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Huge hit! I do soak the beans overnight and use tomato paste instead of ketchup. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good flavor but for some reason the beans did not get soft after 8 hours in the crock pot! I even soaked them in water over night :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I did soak overnight & boil the beans for about 45 minutes before I put into the crockpot. Be sure to cover with enough water the night before, they soak up a LOT of water. Also put into an extra large pot with enough water when boiling. I put in the exact amount of ingredients called for. They were good & made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used the No soaking, no boiling method. I left out the dry mustard. Otherwise this was so good!!! And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States