Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I was very skeptical about this recipe, but my family loved it!! In order to fit the ham in my crock pot, however, I had to take it off the bone and it would have been better left on the bone, so a BIG pot is needed. Otherwise, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I really loved this recipe because it was super easy and the flavor was fantastic. There was one problem though. My ham was very dry. Next time I will watch the ham better and make sure it doesn't dry out. There was plenty of liquid in the crock. My experiance was a 4 star but had I watched the ham better I think it would have been a definite 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I really enjoyed this ham. I used a 6 pound ham. I had read that some people had found it dry so I put mine in the crockpot frozen. It added some extra mosture. I cooked it for the same amount of time the recipie called for. It was moist and falling apart. It was sweet and perfect. I will add this to my families favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This was the best ham I ever had! I grew up on a hog farm, so I've eaten my fair share of it too. It was so juicy and tender, I had to serve it with a spoon because it just fell apart! My husband absolutely loved it and said that I better hold on to this recipe. I think I can remember it, its so simple. I am a slow cooker novice, and the fact that this recipe had no liquid scared me a little, so I did add a little water to the brown sugar at the bottom to make it soupy, and only used a cup and a half of brown sugar. I don't think I would have needed to though, there was alot of liquid from the ham. Definate keeper! Mmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I made this recipe for our Easter dinner and it was a huge success! I'm a vegetarian so my skill in cooking meat is limited and I love the fact that this recipe is so simple! My husband loves using the slow-cooker because the smell permeates the whole house. I did have to chop off the top part of the ham to fit into my crockpot (I froze the unused part for later). If you need more ham but your slow-cooker won't hold it, I suggest borrowing more slow-cookers - this is the easiest way to make ham! I was afraid since I ended up only cooking about 6 pounds of ham that 8 hours might dry it out, but it was fine. There was so much juice, even though no liquid was added. Before I made the recipe I read that when cooking ham, the fat melts off and creates liquid - that's why it isn't necessary to add any water to the slow-cooker. At the end of 8 hours there was nearly 2 inches of liquid in my crockpot! My husband and son both loved this recipe! I loved the convenience of putting it in the crockpot and forgetting about it! I was able to cook the rest of our Easter dinner without taking up space in the oven. And, as most people always have brown sugar on hand, you never have to worry about missing an ingredient! I'm not going to bother cooking ham any other way - we have a new Easter tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I have to admit, I couldn't put my head around the fact that this simple, simple recipe could be so good. I don't think I'll make a ham any other way from now on. It was so incredibly easy and delicious!!! I might try studding the ham with a few cloves the next time, but tonight I made it exactly as posted and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Have been making this recipe for years. Always delicious and sinfully easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Awesome! This is the first recipe I reviewed and it came out perfect, of couse with two ingredients it is hard to go wrong. ;) We are not the biggest fans of ham, but this is my new favorite dinner. Thanks for sharing! Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This recepie makes am incredibly tender, yummy ham that can be made by anyone at anytime. I combined the ham and sugar the night before, and kept it in the fridge until I was ready to start it in the morning before classes, and it turned out just fine. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Wow! What a great recipe!!!!! Thank you for sharing!!! So easy and yet so delicious!!!! The ham was tender, moist and absolutely delicious!!! My family raved about it and I hardly had any leftovers !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States