Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Came out great! Used a 7lb precooked ham and put on high for 3 hours. Added pineapples with juice and just poured brown sugar on top and flopped ham over half way thru cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Used an 8lb. spiral ham from Costco and added 1/2 c. orange juice poured over top before placing lid. Was able to turn the ham sideways and it worked great. Cooked for 5 hours in a "new generation" crock pot on low (they are much hotter than old ones). I flipped ham a few times as it shrunk to distribute sugar. Makes the most delicious juice. Remove ham, slice, freeze bone for soup, put slices back in juice in crock on warm. Refrigerate leftovers with juice (which jellies in fridge and re-warms nicely in deep skillet on low heat). Ham came out VERY MOIST AND STAYED MOIST kept in the delicious juice. Best ham sammies we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was fabulous. I put it in the crock pot at 12:00 AM Xmas eve and it was done on Xmas morning. We had ham sandwiches for Xmas brunch and the day after Xmas I made split pea soup with the ham bone. Easy , tender and very moist and flavorful ham. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was easy and perfect. The only change I made was adding a little bit of crushed cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy McPhillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Here is a helpful little more flavorful idea. Take and push whole cloves around the ham except the bottom about 1in apart in a grid like pattern. Then rub the ham like the recipe says with the brown sugar and then take about 1 cup of shredded pineapple in a can along with the pineapple juice and sprinkle on ham making a layer of pineapple over the ham. Then follow the remaining directions for cooking this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Syverson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Last year's ham counter oven attempt (in a roaster) did not go very well at all so I was a bit hesitant to try again. But I got a late start this year for Turkey day and oven space and time were at a premium, with the Turkey being a hog, so I decided to try a different route, and boy am I glad I did. I followed this recipe for the most part, without strict measurements and with a couple modifications. Because I too, like some of the other reviewer's, was concerned about the lack of water, and had some prior success with beer as a tenderizer (in briskett and ham)... I opted to toss half a bottle of beer in the pot. I didn't put the brown sugar on the bottom because of that so I just packed it all around the outside of the ham. I cooked it on low, overnight for about 8 hours. Hands down, this was the best ham we have ever had - better than honey baked. We had one for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and now New years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marzella Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
It doesn't get any better than this! We always use a bone-in ham and add a can of pineapple rings and juice. The last time I made it I pulled the ham out after the eight-hour mark, separated the meat from the bone, shredded the meat, then returned it to the juices in the slow cooker for another short time. This made the juiciest ham yet! When we took it to Christmas dinner the family divided it up between them, so it looks like I have to make another one for myself. This has turned what I always perceived as a special occasion food into something we will enjoy often. Now I have only to be ashamed of spending three digit sums on pre-made holiday hams when a better one was within my reach for one-tenth of the price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used an 8 pound fully smoked spiral cut ham. I substituted the spice packet that came with the ham for the brown sugar, and cut the cooking time down to 2-3 hours. This recipe worked out great, the ham was flavorful, moist and even better no leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
So simple and easy yet turns out so moist and juicy! Definitely a "pain-free" way to make a ham and not have to constantly check on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calmond
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Although this said you can use a spiral cut ham, I wouldn't recommend it. I cooked a ten pound Kirkland ham; cooked it 6 hours and it was still overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McPhilimy Koger
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States