Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We used a 10 lb., bone in, fully cooked, smoked ham. dumped the juice from the pineapple rings in and cooked for just under 4 hours on low. We took the foil off and turned it over once an hour, then put the foil back on. I think it was the best ham I've ever tasted. It was moist, sliceable and pink. PERFECT! My son, who is a picky eater, asked to take home leftovers-which he never, ever does. I wish the scalloped potatoes turned out as good. Oh well, can't win em all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
So simple and so yummy! I'm not a huge ham lover but decided to try this for Easter dinner. It was so moist and flavourful. I did not cook for 8 hour though as listed. 5 hours on slow was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnmom83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Shearwater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I was nervous about this. I'm not a great cook to start with and cooking for a large family made me extra paranoid. My first ham ever, and everyone was looking at me funny when I decided to use the crock pot. I had no idea what a picnic ham was, and was really nervous about not following the directions exactly, but very glad I followed my instinct. I used a typical ham bought at the grocery store - bone-in, cured, smoked, precooked. I cooked mine for about 3 hours (9ish pound ham) on low(which was about the time it would have taken in the oven). It was perfect. Juicy and moist. I was sure to baste the ham a bunch (maybe once or twice each hour). Because my ham stuck out a bit on the crock pot, I had to use a tin foil tent (which also made me nervous). It worked great. Put a few layers on there to make sure the moisture didn't escape. I got SO many compliments - some even saying it was the best ham they'd ever had which is SUCH a compliment considering my level of expertise on things like this! I did add a little pineapple juice, but that was probably not necessary. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
It's probably not fair of me to give this only three stars....the taste was very good, but the ham was a bit rubbery. I believe it was because it was in the crock way too long; I did follow others' suggestions about a boneless, spiral ham and planned on doing it on low for about four hours (I had a 9# ham). The problem was, two of our guests were over an hour late, and it threw us all off. I should have shut the crock pot off when they arrived and didn't. The ham would have stayed plenty warm. My bad! I think it would've been much better had I done that, and I am only reviewing now to warn others off of my mistake! I plan on trying this again next time we have a party, and hope to update with the stars this cooking method deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe produced a wonderful sauce for the ham. I would like to caution that 8 hours in a slow cooker is too long and the ham will dry out. Also, I found that I could not get a tight seal on my largest slow cooker with an eight pound ham and had to cut a large piece of the ham off in order for the lid to fit and make a tight seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used a 9 1/2# spiral honey ham. I put a little brown sugar on the bottom of the crock pot and put the ham in cut side down. I didn't add any liquid. I then put some more brown sugar over the top. I used the low 8 hr setting. After 3 1/2 hours I switched it up to 4 hr high setting. I put the glaze on that came with the ham, and let it go for about a 1/2 hour. I have a large size crock pot so I didn't have to use foil or anything; it fit in perfectly. The end result was a delicious ham that I would make again in a heartbeat. Great flavor, moist. And best of all stress free! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was a really good recipe, easy, low effort and delicious. I used a 6 lb shank end (not spiral cut) ham, cooked on high for 4 hours. I also added a can of cubed pineapple with the juice because I like cooked pineapple with ham. It turned out really moist and tender, but a bit sweet. I think the next time I make it I'll cut the sugar in half but keep the pineapple and juice. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
S & K thought it was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this for Easter dinner. It was great!!! I used a 9.5 pound spiral cut, hickory smoked ham. I took the advice of all the other reviewers and put the slow cooker on low for 5 hours. An hour before the ham was done, I poured the juice over the top and injected it into the ham. My husband said it reminded him of when he was a child going to the "pot luck" dinners when all the "ladies" could cook! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was amazing as written. I had a 9.5 lb ham, bone in. Trimmed off a section to make it fit in the crock pot, I just covered the top of the ham with 1cup brown sugar, covered it tightly with tin foil (the ham was too big to allow the lid to fit properly). It cooked for about 8hrs on low. It was so tender, so moist and tasted go good - as long as I can fit my ham in the crock pot I won't cook it any other way in future - although I will try using the full 2c br. sugar to see if it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States