Slow Cooker Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Best shank ham I have ever made. I was taught that you needed to boil a shank ham. Since I was having the family over after work I did not have the time to boil a ham so I decided to use my slow cooker. I must admit I added half a cup of water since I was not going to be around to watch it. It made juice so I am sure the water was not required. I will not be boiling another shank ham anytime soon. My family raved above this and the best part, it was so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Cooked this in the crock pot over night. I woke up to a wonderful smell. And then when I opened my crock pot I couldn't stop eating the ham! It's so delicious and moist and not too sweet. My hubby can't stop eating it either! Plus only needing 5 minutes to prepare it makes this a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Hands down, the best way to cook a ham, and so easy to "doctor" it any way you like. I had a 9 1/2 lb. spiral cut ham from Costco that fit quite snugly into my 6 1/2 qt. Slo cooker and what I did was make a paste with the remaining sugar, 2 tbsp.s dijon mustard, 1 tsp. ground cloves, and a couple ounces of a rum and coffee liquer (used Kahlua's pumpkin spice). Used half of the mixture to baste the top of the ham at the start, and the rest about 3 hrs. later. Also poured 6 oz. can of crushed pineapple all around the ham as well as studded the top with whole cloves. In 5 1/2 hrs. the ham was done perfectly. It filled the kitchen with fabulous smells, and turned out moist, tender and delicious. Fed 8 adults with plenty left over. I will definitely be making this again and again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIMASU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This ham was delicious and easy to prepare. I used a spiral cut ham and cooked it on high for about 3 hours after adding a tiny bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was a great way to cook my ham for Easter dinner!! I used a shank end ham and followed the directions with the exception of reducing the brown sugar by 1/2 cup. I also used a bit of orange juice but it was not necessary as there was lots of liquid after the 8 hours - next time I will just omit the juice. The ham fell off the bone and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Berwick, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I used an 11 pound ham and the inside of the ham was juicy and great, but the outside parts were all dried out. I would probably reduce the cooking time on this. I had it on low and I only had it on for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
It was easy to cook the ham this way and it did free up the oven. It did make the ham very moist BUT it also made my ham very difficult to cut in nice thin slices and everything had to be cut very thick in order for it to hold together. The meat practically fell off the bone which is ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
We LOVED this recipe! We made a much larger ham and cut it up to fit in our crock pot. We also added stock to it, BUT was not necessary and had to be drained off. We received great kudos from family! Another home run!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Wow!!! If I could give this 20 stars I would!! This was the first time I ever cooked a ham and it was the BEST ham I've ever had! I followed the recipe perfectly except it only needed to cook for 4 hours and not 8. I used a pre cooked bone in skinless butt ham and it was perfect!! So moist and lots of flavor!! I will never cook a ham any other way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great . I made this for Easter dinner , and it was a hit . I added carrots and pineapple slices and maple syrup . Everyone had seconds . Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States