Slow Cooker Ham and Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I happy to be the inaugural reviewer (and photo submitter) of this recipe and be able to give it such a glowing review! I've never really gotten the phrase "comfort food" before. I mean, I understand what it means/what it is, but nothing has ever really screamed COMFORT FOOD in my world. Until today. It's unseasonably cold and dreary and I could not wait to get home and taste this. It did not disappoint...."comfort food" popped into my head a first bite. I followed the recipe, though I did slightly increase everything to use potatoes and ham I had on hand. This will become a slow cooker staple in the LTH house. THANKS for the recipe, Jane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made this for dinner. It was very hearty - comfort food is a great description for it. It could almost be served as a breakfast item. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwood1964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I didnt have the cream of tartar and I didnt need so much milk but overall this is an ok recipe. At the end I tasted it and added a big spoonful of reduced fat sour cream and some garlic salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I added garlic salt since that's a favorite in my house. The potatoes cooked up just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was a great use for leftover ham! Very easy to prepare and tasted wonderful! I made exactly according to recipe and everyone in my family really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I hate giving bad recipe reviews, because I feel like taste is such a personal thing. However, this recipe did not work for us at all. The sauce completely broke. We ended up with a soupy mix, and it wasn't soupy in a good way. It didn't taste right either. I found it barely edible, and I'll eat anything! For the amount of work that it took to make the milk sauce, I really wanted it to work. I may have an issue with my crock pot getting too hot... since it worked for others (that still doesn't fix the taste issue)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBadger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I made it just as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I didn't have time to do this in morning due to oversleeping so I followed the recipe when I got home and stuck it in the oven for about 1 hr and 15 min. I also added some Ranch seasoning (powder) because I was not sure about Cream of Tarter. LOVED IT. Husband said I should make this often and both my 2 yr old at all of theirs. My daughter told me "Yum, Good job mommy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Will definitely make this again. A great meal with minimal time. I found the 9 hrs way too long - it was cooked to our satisfaction in 4 hours on low, using the fully-cooked smoked ham. Also threw in a layer of sliced mushrooms, a few cloves, and a dash of Frank's HotSauce - I put that s**t on everything. Gave it just the added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This actually tasted good, but the visual appeal was extremely lacking because the sauce separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States