Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was excellent. I served it over cornbread. Totally followed the directions to a T. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Photo by PeaceLoveJoy
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe is really easy and has more flavor than most bean recipes I've tried. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I had some left over ham from the holidays that I pulled out of the freezer and thawed out. Chopped it up, tossed the ingredients for this recipe into my crock pot, and ended up with a very tasty soup! The only change that I made is that I added a can of chicken broth, then added water 2" to cover. I'll be serving this with a plate of cornbread, and a cool spinach salad. This recipe has a quick prep time, and tastes great! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very delicious, I enjoyed it. My family also gave it a thumbs up. I made it exactly as the recipe was written and next time I think I will try using a little less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I followed most of the instructions for this recipe but about half way through cooking I added fresh greenbeans, carrots, celery, and an onion to the soup. It turned out great and my boyfriend loved it. We ate it with cornbread and fresh watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Future Mrs.deJonge
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe is awesome! My Mom always made ham and beans growing up and this blows hers out of the water. I farwarded it on to her and from now on I think we will both be using this one. By the way...I made it on the stove, not in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I made this dish and followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was sweet but mot too sweet. I wouldn't change anything. Served it with cornbread and bbq pork chops. And yes I used the one and only bbq sauce Carolina Treet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Family loved the recipe. Since we don't like real spicy foods, the only thing I did was cut the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I thought this was wonderful!! I did take some of the reviewers advice and cut down the amout of brown sugar however. I used 2tbs. instead and it was perfect. I also sauteed the onions a bit before dropping them in the crock pot.It was so good! My husband said it was the best ham and beans he has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Really good! I loved the brown sugar with the beans - just a little sweet but not too much. This is the best ham and beans recipe I've tried. Very easy too - not a lot of chopping, just throw it in the pot before you go to work! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States