Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Loved Loved Loved this recipe!!!!...everyone that ate it enjoyed it. I made this for a cookout instead of the traditional baked beans and everyone commented that it was even better then bush's. I did add bacon instead of the ham and it turned out great. Had a delicious sweet yet smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've never really cared for ham and beans but I liked this recipe. The brown sugar made it tasty instead of bland and hot. We ate it with cornbread in the dish. I used leftover pieces I had from a big ham. I didn't have time to cook it in the crock pot so I used a jar of beans and did it on the stove top and it worked fine. It was good winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We made this recipe from a bone left from our Christmas honey ham. I dropped the sugar in half as others suggested, and used half Northern and half navy beans. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. Just before eating, I used a potato masher to smash some of the beans to thicken it up. Served with warm cornbread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is by far one of the most flavorful bean recipes I've discovered. I liked the contrast between the brown sugar and the onion/garlic/cayenne combination; it made them "sweet 'n spicy". It came out more like a soup than what I expected, but that was fine; I just served it with saltines and we were set to go! I have a 6-quart crockpot, so I doubled the ingredients. There will be plenty for tasty leftovers tomorrow. I used turkey ham, and added two cans of chicken broth before covering with water. I also converted the cooking time to 8 hours on high, since I'm not an early enough riser to have everything prepared by 6 a.m.! LOL Cooking on High, as far as I can tell, works just as well. One last thing, next time I might try adding some chopped onion, celery, and/or carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Best ham and beans ever. The entire family liked it. The slow cooker method made very simple to do. I would not change a thing to the recipe. One thing we did do was add a ham bone that we had saved for this type of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Really good! I loved the brown sugar with the beans - just a little sweet but not too much. This is the best ham and beans recipe I've tried. Very easy too - not a lot of chopping, just throw it in the pot before you go to work! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I thought this was wonderful!! I did take some of the reviewers advice and cut down the amout of brown sugar however. I used 2tbs. instead and it was perfect. I also sauteed the onions a bit before dropping them in the crock pot.It was so good! My husband said it was the best ham and beans he has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
They were easy to make and with lots of flavor! Although the recipe calls to cook on low for 12 hours, I found that not to be true with my cooker. Therefore, I would say cook time ranges from 3-12 hours. In addition to the onion powder, I added lima beans, chopped onions and two smoked ham hocks. If you have company for a couple of days, this is a wonderful recipe. Serve it with the cornbread muffins II—family and guest will love it! Also, this freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These ham and beans were tnot what we were hoping for. Don't waste your time on this one, there are other recipies on the site that are so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This turned out great. I used pinto beans but I didn't soak them just washed, sorted, and started cooking. I also used the whole slice of ham (bone-in kind, uncooked) straight from the freezer. I had to make this on the stovetop as I knocked the crock pot off the countertop with my elbow and it fell in slow motion all the way to the floor. My husband enjoyed this very very much but the next time I make this, I'll use less cayenne and take almost all the brown sugar out. Thanks, hubby is pleased and he packed up the leftovers to take to work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States