Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I used the beans for 15 bean soup. My husband thought the recipe was a little bland, but I think it will be better when we eat it for leftovers. Easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Prissel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Made this without the brown sugar as others suggested it was too sweet. I also just love the flavor of the beans and the ham so the only thing I added was pepper....beans, ham, water, pepper. Then add a Tbsp of sugar to your boxed cornbread mix and that give you the sweet you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
i used mixed beans and chopped onion, i also cut the brown sugar in half. was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe my only suggestion is to leave the brown sugar out or cut it way back to just a sprinkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great flavor! I used a pack of 15 beans for bean soup and used only 1/4C brown sugar. Cooked it on high for 5 hours and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My family loves these beans! I will add some leftover bacon and pork chops to this mixture, chopped onion, put it all in the slow cooker for about 6 hours checking the water as you go. About 30 min before your ready to eat crack the lid and it will thicken just enough :) Bake cornbread with honey to go along with it. We will definitely be making this often this winter. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
It's even better with a half cup of white vinegar and a couple of sliced Jalapinos thrown on top. I would leave out the cayenne pepper tho. I always save the bones from my spiral sliced ham and throw that in. After 10 hours the bones are totally bare of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My family loved this recipe. I did make some changes. First I used Black Eyed Peas instead of the northern beans, second I used chopped onions instread of onion powder and last I used red pepper instead of cayenne pepper! It was wonderful and we served it over corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
We just finished eating. This recipe was great. My husband had been wanting some home made beans since it had been a while since I made some. We really enjoyed this recipe. The only thing I did differently was I chopped up a small onion and added that to it and only half the onion powder and used less brown sugar after reading the reviews.. My three children and husband were pleased. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennMSing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I LOVE this soup and I LOVE how easy it is to get ready! I think the sweet and spicy mixture that the brown sugar and cayenne pepper create is awesome. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe! It's one that I can always count on to be stress free, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Burlington, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States