Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
The only changes I made was to reduce the brown sugar to 2 Tablespoons and ad a dash of onion owder and worcestershire sauce. Taste was very good but am giving it only four stars because the beans were too mushy for our taste. Will reduce the cooking time to about 8 hours next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Super easy family meal!! I used 1 lb quality ham,1 chopped onion, and cut back on the sugar to 1 T. With the remaining ingredients, I followed the written recipe. I don't think my family would have enjoyed these beans if I had used 1/2 brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Wow! This recipe is awesome! I did follow the suggestions to cut down on the brown sugar, so I put in about 1/4 a cup. It was perfect. My kids ate it and asked for more. This recipe alone is reason enough to make a ham dinner...to be able to use the leftovers for this! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe! I had to give it a full 5 stars to counter balance the few poor ratings and reviews given by others... First off, great use for a post holiday ham bone. After slow cooking all day, any remaining meat simply melts right off the bone. Secondly, yes... It was a little sweet, but not crazy sweet, and sweetness was nicely balanced by the cayenne pepper. I made this with a few modifications: I used sautéed onions instead of onion powder, and garlic powder + salt instead of garlic salt, added one generous tsp of dried rosemary instead of parsley, and fortified liquid by including some vegetable stock. I thought the results were outstanding! The next time I make this I would reduce sugar to 1/3 C, sauté celery with onions and add a few chopped carrots halfway through the cooking time. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rick K
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great & easy recipe! I deviated somewhat from the basic recipe after reading reviews and using what I had on hand. My wife had bought some ground ham in the deli, so I used a 1/2 Lbs. of that. I had a bag of 15 beans and soaked them overnight (did NOT use the flavor packet with it). I started with a 28oz can of diced tomatoes, 1 chopped medium onion, about a half cup each of chopped green and red pepper (frozen from bags in the freezer), 2 tsp. crushed jar garlic, brown sugar & spices as indicated. Added the beans & homemade chicken stock instead of water I had on hand. About 6 hours in, chopped 1 Lbs. of turkey kielbasa in half moons (less five inches that I grilled and put on a hotdog bun for lunch)& added it to crockpot. 11 hours in it was still to soupy for my taste. I skimmed out about 1 cup of liquid, cool it in fridge, then whisked in about 4 TBL of flour to the cool liquid. Added mixture back to crockpot to thicken to light gravy type texture. Everyone loved it - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Phenomenal. Used leftover baked ham... added some cooked white rice at the end. Lots of leftovers. Great great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I make it almost exactly as stated. The changes I did make: I only used 1/3 c. of brown sugar and would probably even decrease that to only 1/4 c. next time, I used minced garlic instead of garlic salt, and I used a 1 1/2 pound package of Farmland smoked spiral ham slices and pieces. Probably only got a little over a pound once I cut out the "grissly" parts, but just 1/2 pound definitely would not have been enough ham for a full pound of beans! I liked this well enough and wouldn't say I was disappointed with the outcome, but probably will try a different recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very Good ! Here are my changes..... I doubled the recipe and also added 3 bay leaves ... minced garlic, 3 stalks of celery chopped, 3 yellow onions roughly diced, 1 large green pepper cut into smaller chunks and half of lb of baby carrots cut up and maybe a t of cayenne pepper and same amount of Cajun seasoning and fresh ground black pepper to taste. Added the carrots and celery about halfway in . Cooked for 1st 2 hours on high then 9+ or so on low . To get to the consistency I like added flour to thicken it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The family loved it! Very easy. Next time I will probably cut the sugar in 1/2, since I don't care for "sweet" with my savory. The beans were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States