Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I thought this was wonderful!! I did take some of the reviewers advice and cut down the amout of brown sugar however. I used 2tbs. instead and it was perfect. I also sauteed the onions a bit before dropping them in the crock pot.It was so good! My husband said it was the best ham and beans he has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
They were easy to make and with lots of flavor! Although the recipe calls to cook on low for 12 hours, I found that not to be true with my cooker. Therefore, I would say cook time ranges from 3-12 hours. In addition to the onion powder, I added lima beans, chopped onions and two smoked ham hocks. If you have company for a couple of days, this is a wonderful recipe. Serve it with the cornbread muffins II—family and guest will love it! Also, this freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These ham and beans were tnot what we were hoping for. Don't waste your time on this one, there are other recipies on the site that are so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This turned out great. I used pinto beans but I didn't soak them just washed, sorted, and started cooking. I also used the whole slice of ham (bone-in kind, uncooked) straight from the freezer. I had to make this on the stovetop as I knocked the crock pot off the countertop with my elbow and it fell in slow motion all the way to the floor. My husband enjoyed this very very much but the next time I make this, I'll use less cayenne and take almost all the brown sugar out. Thanks, hubby is pleased and he packed up the leftovers to take to work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Family loved the recipe. Since we don't like real spicy foods, the only thing I did was cut the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I followed most of the instructions for this recipe but about half way through cooking I added fresh greenbeans, carrots, celery, and an onion to the soup. It turned out great and my boyfriend loved it. We ate it with cornbread and fresh watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Future Mrs.deJonge
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
i haven't had this diah in some years, i'm the only one in my family that will touch beans especially lima,i followed the recipe to the tee & it made me very pleased. i will make this more often for sure. just the right amount of sugar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.e. Aries Bush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is quite possibly the worst "bean" recipe I have ever used. 1/2 cup of brown sugar combined with 1/4 tsp of cayenne is a terrible combination. I should have known better but was looking for a no brainer and saw the reviews where people had not changed this recipe and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I made this dish and followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was sweet but mot too sweet. I wouldn't change anything. Served it with cornbread and bbq pork chops. And yes I used the one and only bbq sauce Carolina Treet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I don't eat a lot of meat, so I'm not a big fan of this recipe. My boyfriend liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States