Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
It's even better with a half cup of white vinegar and a couple of sliced Jalapinos thrown on top. I would leave out the cayenne pepper tho. I always save the bones from my spiral sliced ham and throw that in. After 10 hours the bones are totally bare of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My family loved this recipe. I did make some changes. First I used Black Eyed Peas instead of the northern beans, second I used chopped onions instread of onion powder and last I used red pepper instead of cayenne pepper! It was wonderful and we served it over corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
We just finished eating. This recipe was great. My husband had been wanting some home made beans since it had been a while since I made some. We really enjoyed this recipe. The only thing I did differently was I chopped up a small onion and added that to it and only half the onion powder and used less brown sugar after reading the reviews.. My three children and husband were pleased. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennMSing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I LOVE this soup and I LOVE how easy it is to get ready! I think the sweet and spicy mixture that the brown sugar and cayenne pepper create is awesome. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe! It's one that I can always count on to be stress free, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Burlington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Loved Loved Loved this recipe!!!!...everyone that ate it enjoyed it. I made this for a cookout instead of the traditional baked beans and everyone commented that it was even better then bush's. I did add bacon instead of the ham and it turned out great. Had a delicious sweet yet smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've never really cared for ham and beans but I liked this recipe. The brown sugar made it tasty instead of bland and hot. We ate it with cornbread in the dish. I used leftover pieces I had from a big ham. I didn't have time to cook it in the crock pot so I used a jar of beans and did it on the stove top and it worked fine. It was good winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We made this recipe from a bone left from our Christmas honey ham. I dropped the sugar in half as others suggested, and used half Northern and half navy beans. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. Just before eating, I used a potato masher to smash some of the beans to thicken it up. Served with warm cornbread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is by far one of the most flavorful bean recipes I've discovered. I liked the contrast between the brown sugar and the onion/garlic/cayenne combination; it made them "sweet 'n spicy". It came out more like a soup than what I expected, but that was fine; I just served it with saltines and we were set to go! I have a 6-quart crockpot, so I doubled the ingredients. There will be plenty for tasty leftovers tomorrow. I used turkey ham, and added two cans of chicken broth before covering with water. I also converted the cooking time to 8 hours on high, since I'm not an early enough riser to have everything prepared by 6 a.m.! LOL Cooking on High, as far as I can tell, works just as well. One last thing, next time I might try adding some chopped onion, celery, and/or carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Best ham and beans ever. The entire family liked it. The slow cooker method made very simple to do. I would not change a thing to the recipe. One thing we did do was add a ham bone that we had saved for this type of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Really good! I loved the brown sugar with the beans - just a little sweet but not too much. This is the best ham and beans recipe I've tried. Very easy too - not a lot of chopping, just throw it in the pot before you go to work! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States