Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I skipped the brown sugar and substituted diced turkey sausage instead of ham. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Cut the sugar in half and added bacon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I loved this. With corn bread it was a very satisfying meal for myself and husband. I doubled the recipe so I had enough for the neighbors too. We all liked it very much. We eat a lot of beans, so thanks for the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I don't like the sweet taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Had some leftover spiral cut honey glazed ham and the ham hock so gave this one a go. It was very flavorful and easy. I cut back on the brown sugar since I already had the honey glaze going on. I will probably cut it in half the next time I make it. Started with about 2 cups of chicken stock for the liquid and then added water on top of that. Also added a cup of freshly diced onions. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe just how it was. I love non-spicy food but it was too bland, overall so "meh" we're having a hard time finishing it. Two stars only because 12 hours was the right amount of time to cook the beans, they're soft but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. We added the brown sugar and tried everything to undo it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It is so yummy and easy. I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar because the reviews said that it was too sweet and it came out great. I made bread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I omit the brown sugar, because I pick up a ham bone at the Honey Baked Ham Store for a few bucks. They trim the spiral sliced meat off the bones for sandwiches and to sell in smaller quantities than a whole ham. There is still a large amount of ham on the bone that didn't get used for those purposes: perfect for a batch of beans or pea soup. I live alone and this recipe is perfect for portioning into zip freezer bags for a quick warm-me-up in the winter. Awesome with PBJ sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevecruz Denver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This turned out great for us! I used a leftover ham bone that still had lots of ham and was particularly tasty in this dish and I cooked it in the slow cooker for 8 hours which was probably at least an hour too long (but still great.) I did not add the sugar because I already know we don't like sweet Northern beans and I added a bay leaf which I think really added to the taste. I probably added more garlic than the recipe called for. You can definitely taste that small amount of cayenne pepper. We loved this dish but I think the quality of the hame bone/meat may be key to making this a great one...ours was great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States