Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is quite possibly the worst "bean" recipe I have ever used. 1/2 cup of brown sugar combined with 1/4 tsp of cayenne is a terrible combination. I should have known better but was looking for a no brainer and saw the reviews where people had not changed this recipe and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I was really excited about this recipe because its quick to assemble and totally easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except i subbed kielbasa sausage for the ham because i didnt have ham. Unfortunately, the broth is REALLY sweet- so if you like sweet ham and beans (we dont) then this might be the recipe for you. If not, i would leave out the brown sugar or at least cut it WAY back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I had some left over ham from the holidays that I pulled out of the freezer and thawed out. Chopped it up, tossed the ingredients for this recipe into my crock pot, and ended up with a very tasty soup! The only change that I made is that I added a can of chicken broth, then added water 2" to cover. I'll be serving this with a plate of cornbread, and a cool spinach salad. This recipe has a quick prep time, and tastes great! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I followed most of the instructions for this recipe but about half way through cooking I added fresh greenbeans, carrots, celery, and an onion to the soup. It turned out great and my boyfriend loved it. We ate it with cornbread and fresh watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Future Mrs.deJonge
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
They were easy to make and with lots of flavor! Although the recipe calls to cook on low for 12 hours, I found that not to be true with my cooker. Therefore, I would say cook time ranges from 3-12 hours. In addition to the onion powder, I added lima beans, chopped onions and two smoked ham hocks. If you have company for a couple of days, this is a wonderful recipe. Serve it with the cornbread muffins II—family and guest will love it! Also, this freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very delicious, I enjoyed it. My family also gave it a thumbs up. I made it exactly as the recipe was written and next time I think I will try using a little less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe is really easy and has more flavor than most bean recipes I've tried. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was excellent. I served it over cornbread. Totally followed the directions to a T. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I never look at a recipe that is less then a 4 1/2 star but I looked at the ingredients and thought, YUM. So I looked at the reviews. The negative ones made me try it. First of all, I kinda doubt the person actually made this recipe who thought the b.sugar and cayenne pepper was a terrible idea. Secondly, if you think about this recipe truly it is an awesome base. I have made many of bean soups. My husband said this one was one of my better soups, and he loves my cooking. I used an onion instead of onion powder. This was all I did to the "base"recipe yet I know what I love in a bean recipe. I added celery. with about an hour to cook I added on can kernel corn and 1 can stewed tomatoes. Served with buttermilk biscuits. Remember the sugar does change the flavor and it for the better... it give it a rich deep flavor. Not too sweet at all. Then of course I added other veggies. Thank you for this great "base" recipe and if I wanted a thick bean and ham... I would leave it alone and add a lot less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was really good. I used smoked turkey sausage instead of ham and 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup...I think next time I will increase the brown sugar a little, although not to the full 1/2 cup. Served this with some cornbread and it was a great down-home meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States