Slow Cooker Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Family loved the recipe. Since we don't like real spicy foods, the only thing I did was cut the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I followed most of the instructions for this recipe but about half way through cooking I added fresh greenbeans, carrots, celery, and an onion to the soup. It turned out great and my boyfriend loved it. We ate it with cornbread and fresh watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Future Mrs.deJonge
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
i haven't had this diah in some years, i'm the only one in my family that will touch beans especially lima,i followed the recipe to the tee & it made me very pleased. i will make this more often for sure. just the right amount of sugar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is quite possibly the worst "bean" recipe I have ever used. 1/2 cup of brown sugar combined with 1/4 tsp of cayenne is a terrible combination. I should have known better but was looking for a no brainer and saw the reviews where people had not changed this recipe and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I made this dish and followed the recipe exactly. I thought it was sweet but mot too sweet. I wouldn't change anything. Served it with cornbread and bbq pork chops. And yes I used the one and only bbq sauce Carolina Treet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I don't eat a lot of meat, so I'm not a big fan of this recipe. My boyfriend liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was really good. I used smoked turkey sausage instead of ham and 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup...I think next time I will increase the brown sugar a little, although not to the full 1/2 cup. Served this with some cornbread and it was a great down-home meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe is awesome! My Mom always made ham and beans growing up and this blows hers out of the water. I farwarded it on to her and from now on I think we will both be using this one. By the way...I made it on the stove, not in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was excellent. I served it over cornbread. Totally followed the directions to a T. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very delicious, I enjoyed it. My family also gave it a thumbs up. I made it exactly as the recipe was written and next time I think I will try using a little less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States