Slow Cooker Ham and Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BW
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My husband and I love this receipe!!! Our children said, "What is that smell and do we have to eat it." Last time I made it, I cooked the carrots in a butter/brown sugar mixture before adding them in. I sauted the onions and celery together, and put in some whole peppercorns. I like this because it is so easy and and husband pleasing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laverne, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Perry, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is extra easy and very flavorful & filling! The perfect Super Bowl food--start this in the morning and by game time--it will be ready!! I only made a few changes. I used 16 oz of frozen black eyed peas because that is what I had and used one can of white kidney( cannellini) beans instead of garbanzo, again because that is what I had on hand. I didn't drain any of the canned beans.I also diced up 4 carrots and 3 ribs of celery and sauteed them with the onion and garlic--which I increased to 4 cloves. I also added 6 slices of browned and crumbled bacon with a few tsp. of the drippings to the stew plus 1 tsp. of chili powder and some fresh ground black peper. The ham & the bacon added enough salt. It simmered all day on low and was perfect for supper with the sweet cornbread recipe ( found on this site) and cole slaw. Even my VERY picky 10 year old daughter loved this stew. My parents happened to stop by,& since this makes plenty, they stayed and enjoyed it too!! My dad said this is the best bean soup he'd ever had so my mom took the recipe home! Hard to believe something so simple made with common ingredients could be this tasty! For a little extra kick--some of us added a few shakes of green jalapeno hot sauce. This is a winner--just like the Indy Colts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The first time that I made this recipe was last winter when I needed to use up some leftover ham. I loved it then, but somehow didn't save it to my recipe box. I am happy to find it again and can't wait to make it soon. I followed the recipe exactly...the dollop of sour cream takes this soup over the top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Easy, delicious, and makes enough for 6-8 people...great way to use leftover ham. I used black-eyed peas, pinto beans, and Great Northern beans, sauteed chopped onion, garlic, and celery in hot oil before adding it to the pot. I also used a seasoning salt. The flavor was great and I even forgot to dollop some sour cream on it. Served with buttermilk cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I really liked this recipe and it was super easy. Before putting all the ingredients into the slow cooker, I sauteed the onion and about 1 tsp of minced garlic until the onions were transparent, then I added finely chopped celery. I also added chili powder, cumin, and chipotle chili powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Quick and easy. I followed the advice of others and added carrots, celery and onion. Also chopped up a jalepeno pepper. Seasoned with cumin and a little chili powder. It seemed a little dry, so I added a cup of beef bullion thickened with a tablespoon of flour. Delish! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this today and it was very good. I was a surpise at the great flavor. I would recommend adding a few veggies like carrots or celery. And I did add a little seasoning salt, cracked black pepper and a small amount of ketchup. Very good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I added chili powder and cumin. Surprisingly had a really great taste considering there are so few ingredients. Would be awesome with some veggies and will try with ketchup like previous comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daleville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
My whole family really enjoyed this soup. I used smoked ham to give it some added flavor, and threw in a handful of fresh spinach leaves for color and extra tang. Will use again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I added some carrots and celery. I also used Great Northern beans instead of Garbanzo Beans. I added some chili powder and cumin as others had suggested, but even without draining the cans of beans it seemed to not have enough liquid for the slow cooker, so I added some water just to give it more liquid. This is really flavorful. Its not at all like a plain bean and ham soup. It is really good, and makes A LOT for leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States