Slow Cooker Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly BUT I added 1 more cup of water and 1 more cup of chicken broth as I had more ham than it called for and I'm glad I did. WOW did this turn out good and so easy too. Soaked my beans the night before, threw it all in the slowcooker in the morning and came home to a wonderful pot of soup! YUM! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolo2459

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was delicious! I added more liquid and a can of diced tomatoes. It was even better on the second day. A great meal with some hearty bread or a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was delicious. I left out the ham bone...didn't have one and added a can of chopped tomatoes. The whole family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samiam3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great soup and great way to use up the Christmas ham. I Also wanted to spice it up so added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, and one can of regular diced tomatoes with all the juice. I added in more spices and garlic and some chopped celery. The house smelled so good, makes a ton of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Will make again soon. Added a 1/2 cup tomato sauce and 1 tsp siracha hot sauce to give a little zip.,was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingupchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Amazing soup recipe! Definitely add a can of diced tomatoes (I used the ones with garlic and onion)...Added a can of chick peas and white kidney beans instead of the 15 bean soup mix because I didn't realize they needed to soak overnight...Will be making this soup again anytime I have leftover ham...Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
We didn't have a ham bone or add the northern beans. Our package of beans came with ham flavoring, which we added for additional flavor. I would probably add more liquid and a smaller pack of beans next time. Even after soaking overnight (and adding more water to the soaking after a couple hours because it was all soaked up!) it was more beans and less soup for us. Definitely the flavor was delicious and we have been eating leftovers of it for a few days. I recommend serving with cornbread or a sourdough loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very good and makes a nice big batch! Like some of the other reviewers, I added more broth, water and 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes. Ended up using a 1lb bag of 15 bean mix, so eliminated the extra can of beans and threw away the ham packet that came with it. Looked at another recipe and added 1 tablespoon of dried parsley, 1 tsp of chili powder, 1 tablespoon of worsh. and 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard. Came out fabulous with great flavor! Don't forget the ham bone. Sometimes the Honey Baked Ham store sells ham bones…mmmm, mmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Really great! I listened to previous reviewers and added a can of diced tomatoes and an extra cup of water. I skipped the ham bone because I didn't have one. Delicious served with honey cornbread and tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made this soup and added a can of crushed tomatoes so easy and delicious!Soaked the beans the night before and cooked all the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States