Slow Cooker Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly BUT I added 1 more cup of water and 1 more cup of chicken broth as I had more ham than it called for and I'm glad I did. WOW did this turn out good and so easy too. Soaked my beans the night before, threw it all in the slowcooker in the morning and came home to a wonderful pot of soup! YUM! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolo2459

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was delicious! I added more liquid and a can of diced tomatoes. It was even better on the second day. A great meal with some hearty bread or a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was delicious. I left out the ham bone...didn't have one and added a can of chopped tomatoes. The whole family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samiam3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great soup and great way to use up the Christmas ham. I Also wanted to spice it up so added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, and one can of regular diced tomatoes with all the juice. I added in more spices and garlic and some chopped celery. The house smelled so good, makes a ton of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Will make again soon. Added a 1/2 cup tomato sauce and 1 tsp siracha hot sauce to give a little zip.,was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingupchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe! minor changes - added a can of diced tomatoes and several dashes of Franks hot sauce - just added some flavor, not hot. I used 4 cups broth, 2 cups water. The store was out of 15 bean soup mix so I used the dried great northern white beans (16 oz bag) in place of it and omitted the can of northern white beans, of course. Otherwise I followed the recipe and will use again whenever I have a ham bone. Blending two cups of soup and adding back in one hour prior to serving helped to slightly thicken up and enhanced flavor. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Amazing soup recipe! Definitely add a can of diced tomatoes (I used the ones with garlic and onion)...Added a can of chick peas and white kidney beans instead of the 15 bean soup mix because I didn't realize they needed to soak overnight...Will be making this soup again anytime I have leftover ham...Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
We didn't have a ham bone or add the northern beans. Our package of beans came with ham flavoring, which we added for additional flavor. I would probably add more liquid and a smaller pack of beans next time. Even after soaking overnight (and adding more water to the soaking after a couple hours because it was all soaked up!) it was more beans and less soup for us. Definitely the flavor was delicious and we have been eating leftovers of it for a few days. I recommend serving with cornbread or a sourdough loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very good and makes a nice big batch! Like some of the other reviewers, I added more broth, water and 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes. Ended up using a 1lb bag of 15 bean mix, so eliminated the extra can of beans and threw away the ham packet that came with it. Looked at another recipe and added 1 tablespoon of dried parsley, 1 tsp of chili powder, 1 tablespoon of worsh. and 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard. Came out fabulous with great flavor! Don't forget the ham bone. Sometimes the Honey Baked Ham store sells ham bones…mmmm, mmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Taste like a lot of beans. If that's your thing I say go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States