Slow Cooker Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Absolutely wonderful soup to utilize that savory ham-bone. I followed the recipe pretty much. I did add all 4-cups of chicken broth instead of 2 cups of broth and 2 cups of water. After it cooked for 8-hours, I felt I needed another 1/2 cup of water to keep it soupy. Otherwise, kids and family couldn't get enough! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very good and makes a nice big batch! Like some of the other reviewers, I added more broth, water and 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes. Ended up using a 1lb bag of 15 bean mix, so eliminated the extra can of beans and threw away the ham packet that came with it. Looked at another recipe and added 1 tablespoon of dried parsley, 1 tsp of chili powder, 1 tablespoon of worsh. and 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard. Came out fabulous with great flavor! Don't forget the ham bone. Sometimes the Honey Baked Ham store sells ham bones…mmmm, mmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe! minor changes - added a can of diced tomatoes and several dashes of Franks hot sauce - just added some flavor, not hot. I used 4 cups broth, 2 cups water. The store was out of 15 bean soup mix so I used the dried great northern white beans (16 oz bag) in place of it and omitted the can of northern white beans, of course. Otherwise I followed the recipe and will use again whenever I have a ham bone. Blending two cups of soup and adding back in one hour prior to serving helped to slightly thicken up and enhanced flavor. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love finding a creative recipe that compliments what you've already tried and just makes it that much better! This recipe did just that. Don't be afraid of the "unusual" ingredients for traditional bean soup - that's what makes this great! The tomatoes, Worcestershire and mustard are a BRILLIANT addition for great layered flavors. I used leftovers from glazed spiral ham which added the hints of brown sugar, cinnamon, cloves, allspice and nutmeg. Since I can't resist tweaking a recipe, I cut the chicken broth to 4 cups and an equal amount of vegetable broth, added a dash of hickory liquid smoke, substituted Paprika and white pepper for the chilli powder. Pureeing 2 cups of veggies and meat and adding a little corn starch during final 1/2 hour made a smooth but hearty soup. As other reviewers noted, all low sodium products and no added salt is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Taste like a lot of beans. If that's your thing I say go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Really great! I listened to previous reviewers and added a can of diced tomatoes and an extra cup of water. I skipped the ham bone because I didn't have one. Delicious served with honey cornbread and tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made this soup and added a can of crushed tomatoes so easy and delicious!Soaked the beans the night before and cooked all the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Followed recipe exactly except added one can of Rotel and didn't use the ham bone. Delicious winter time meal. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great soup!! I added chopped cabbage and diced potaoes for an even more heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Amazing soup recipe! Definitely add a can of diced tomatoes (I used the ones with garlic and onion)...Added a can of chick peas and white kidney beans instead of the 15 bean soup mix because I didn't realize they needed to soak overnight...Will be making this soup again anytime I have leftover ham...Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States