Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Mmmm. So good. I simplified this recipe by substituting 2 jars of Herdez salsa verde for the tomatillos and chiles and doubled up on the garlic because I LOVE garlic. I also substituted Dos Equis beer for the water. This was killer. So delicious and so easy. It would make an excellent base for a green pork chilli if you wanted to add a couple of cans of white beans as well. Hominy would be a fun addition too. I will make this again and again. Mmmmmm. Also, a note, if you can acquire Mexican oregano, your tastebuds will thank you. It has an amazing earthy flavour that you just can't replicate with anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUSCIOUSLEMONADE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Fantastic! I used a 32oz. jar of tomatillo salsa to replace the tomatillos, onion, garlic, jalapeno and chiles. It had everything in it. I also replaced the water with chicken stock. During dinner my husband kept coming up with more ways we could use this pork. We ate it like soup, we had it wrapped in tortillas and next I will use it to make enchiladas! Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Excellent. I used fresh tomatillos instead of canned, pork tenderloin instead of shoulder, and chicken broth instead of water. The meat was very tender, and had a great flavor. I strained some of the water out of the sauce, and added it back to the slow cooker with the shredded pork. We spooned it into warm tortillas and topped it with avocado, cheese and sour cream. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This dish was excellent. However, you MUST take the advice of others and use chicken broth instead of water for added flavor. I also used pork loin instead of pork shoulder. The recipe came out excellent. My husband and I made tacos with the meat the first night, using corn tortillas and the same toppings as called for in the recipe, and had it as a stew the following night. My husband was apprehensive at first, but ended up loving it! He even called me the next day from work to get the name of the recipe because he was telling all of his co-workers how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This is great! I used chicken broth in place of the water and maybe only a 1/2 tsp. dried Cilantro because I don't care that much for it. I also used pork loin instead of pork shoulder because it is what I had. It turned out awesome and quite spicy which I love! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Excellent. A little on the hot side for us, but still excellent. I used boneless country style ribs and cut them into chunks before I browned them. I used less jalapeno than called for (last year’s harvest, which I froze, were HOT), and rounded everything out with some salsa verde in addition to the tomatillos and green chilies. I found it unnecessary to add any water. I served this over Mamacita’s Mexican Rice along with some sour cream and guacamole, and Skillet Summer Squash, both recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Not what I call a real mexican recipe as my wife is Mexican and we call this dich chili verde(green chili sauce) but we only use fresh tomotillos,Anihym chilis and jalapenos or serrano chilli's which are simmered in chicken stock for about 1 hour only the stems are removed from the chili's then they are run through the blender using some of the stock poured over the browned meat (cubed)and allowed to simmer we make large batches so you need about 4 lbs of tomotillos,8 to 10 of each type chili (we like it spicy)simmer for a couple hours serve with Mexican rice and flour or corn tortillas enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JS Mooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Alaska, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'm going to give this 4 stars, since it was good, but I changed it around a little. I couldn't find canned tomatillos, so I used salsa verde and only one jalapeno (it was pretty fiery). With that, it tasted great! However, when I went to put the recipe in my "permanent collection", I turned to my fiance and said, ". I was suppposed to put a quart of water in this thing!" So...with the other reviews saying to use chicken broth instead of water, I say use salsa verde and no water (or broth). It was still stew-like and not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Most excellent! I went with the Herdez salsa verde (two 16oz jars) in place of the tomatillos, diced green chilies and jalapeno peppers. Only one clove of garlic for us, and I substituted two bottles of Dos Equis beer for the water!! Loved the recipe! Definitely add jalapenos if you like it spicy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Do not add any additional salt. I added salt and I feel that it made mine too salty. I took this to a Cinco de Mayo party and people loved it. I did what others said and used 2 jars of Pace Salsa Verde- tomotillo salsa in place of the tomotillas. It was so simple and easy. I recieved so many compliments all night long. Mine was the first dish to be completely finished out of 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States