Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This recipe was soooo good!!! I substituted fresh tomatillos for canned, chicken broth for water, and left out the cilantro (because I forgot to buy it). It was exactly the type of chili verde recipe I was looking for! Thanks so much for posting it, Fastcooker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe! Served with flour tortillas, refried beans and salad. Everyone loved it including my 11 year old who is a very picky eater and my husband who is not too crazy about Mexican food. I made the house smell great too because everyone who came through the door said "smells yummy in here". The only things I changed was adding a can of chicken broth in place of the 1 quart of water and I used pork loin chops (I am sure anytype of boneless pork would go great). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was absolutely delicious!!!!!! I used chicken broth as someone had suggested and I used serrano peppers (just because that's what I had on hand). I might use less liquid next time, but that definately didn't bug me enough that I won't make it again. We will be making this a lot!!!!!!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This is great! I used chicken broth in place of the water and maybe only a 1/2 tsp. dried Cilantro because I don't care that much for it. I also used pork loin instead of pork shoulder because it is what I had. It turned out awesome and quite spicy which I love! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
ooh soooooooo good. I changed it though. My guests would have not eaten anything spicy, so I omitted the tomatillos and jalapenos, and instead used a jar of salsa with seasoning salt. It was GREAT. Everyones favorite. I'm going to use the drained meat for tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This was OK but it did not have the flavor I was expecting. I ate it but my wife, who loves mexican food, and son did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I found this a little bland. I couldn't find canned tomatillos, however, so I used fresh...perhaps I should have added more salt. It might have been a little better with a couple more jalapenos too. Maybe using chicken broth instead of water would have perked it up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Average at best. Just seemed like it was missing something, but I can't figure out what. We still ate it, but dumped the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treeskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Excellent. I used fresh tomatillos instead of canned, pork tenderloin instead of shoulder, and chicken broth instead of water. The meat was very tender, and had a great flavor. I strained some of the water out of the sauce, and added it back to the slow cooker with the shredded pork. We spooned it into warm tortillas and topped it with avocado, cheese and sour cream. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was great! I've tried 5-6 different verde recipes and this is a keeper. I did add 1 can of chicken broth instead of the water, skimmed the fat from it a couple of times and added 2 tsp pepper flakes because the 2 jalapenos did not make it "hot" enough for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States