Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very good and very easy to prepare. I omitted the water entirely and reduced the amount of salsa to one can. This makes a fabulous filling for fresh bakery roll, burrito, enchilada, taco, etc. Or, fry the leftovers in a skillet w/hot oil and serve with eggs for breakfast. Speaking of leftovers, this recipe freezes well for up to a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
TOP NOTCH! WHAT A TREAT! My husband brought home a cheap, fatty pork shoulder roast instead the pork tenderloin I had requested for a stir-fry I had planned to make. I smiled, and said "Thanks Sweetie", while I wondered what to do with such an awful-looking cut of meat. Not only was this recipe perfect for the fatty pork shoulder I had, it was so delicious and tender! The fat seemed to have melted into the dish as there was nothing to cut away. Mine was cooked in three hours (not six to seven as stated in the recipe). This may be because I halved the recipe and cut the roast in half to reduce the height of the roast so that it would be covered with half the amount of water. By chance, more of the surface area of the roast was browned this way as well. I used fresh tomatillos (not canned), and fresh chilies (not canned) and added the fresh cilantro half an hour before serving (not during the cooking time) to keep it fresh. I will definitely make this recipe again. UPDATE: IT LOST THE "WOW" FACTOR THE SECOND TIME I MADE IT. The second time I used pork tenderloin (not pork shoulder), made the full amount (not half) and had to cook it overnight when it wasn't done in 6 hours as I had to go to bed (half the amount took 3 hours last time). I would definitely use pork shoulder and BE CAREFUL not to over cook it even in a slow cooker. What I made this time is okay, but not especially delicious. The meat is dry, and the seasonings are "tired".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I didn’t know what to expect of this dish, but I love tomatillos, so I had to try it! First, I used 2 lbs of pork roast, what I had on hand. Store didn’t have canned tomatillos, so I used the Salsa Verde. Based on other reviews I used a 12oz bottle of beer in place of the water and also added two cans of white beans so I could eat it as a stew/soup. I let it cook on low for 8 hours, then shredded the pork and put back in the crockpot for about an hour. Turned out fantastic! I like my dishes spicy, so next time I’ll add some hot sauce or crushed red pepper, the japalenos didn’t make it spicy enough for my taste. Turned out great, can't wait to eat the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Delicious. My only change was to use 1 one pound pork tenderloins. This reduced the cooking time to 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Do not add any additional salt. I added salt and I feel that it made mine too salty. I took this to a Cinco de Mayo party and people loved it. I did what others said and used 2 jars of Pace Salsa Verde- tomotillo salsa in place of the tomotillas. It was so simple and easy. I recieved so many compliments all night long. Mine was the first dish to be completely finished out of 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I also used the tomatillo salsa verde with 2 cans of chicken broth. Then, I made a gravy base to add it to. It came out much thicker more like guisado. We were all surprised at how tasty the pork was! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I substituted a jar of salsa verde and some chopped fresh tomatillos for the canned ones, because I could not get the cans. We liked this very much, though it was a bit watery when it was fresh; however, it thickened up quite a bit in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Soooo good...followed advice of others and just got the verde sauce as it had the tomatillos in there with the garlic etc...I did add minced garlic on top of that also and maybe not as much liquid as mentioned. Did add more chicken broth than water. But it was sooo good. Next time, I will add some carrots, radishes and some other veggies to make it more of a soup. We had it rolled in tortillas, like an enchilada and it was excellent. This dish gets even better over the following days. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I love Guisado and have been looking for a good / great recipe for some time. I'M STILL LOOKING FOR A GOOD RECIPE!!! This was a real disappointment - especially after the great reviews. I followed several suggestions: salsa verde, reduced water / beer, added jalapenos .... The consistency was good, color was good, but lifeless and bland. Still looking for a good recipe for guisado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'm going to give this 4 stars, since it was good, but I changed it around a little. I couldn't find canned tomatillos, so I used salsa verde and only one jalapeno (it was pretty fiery). With that, it tasted great! However, when I went to put the recipe in my "permanent collection", I turned to my fiance and said, ". I was suppposed to put a quart of water in this thing!" So...with the other reviews saying to use chicken broth instead of water, I say use salsa verde and no water (or broth). It was still stew-like and not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States