Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
EXTRAORDINARY. I did the suggested sub of using Herdez green salsa instead of the tomatillos and green chilis. For 4lbs of meat I used three cans Herdez, two jalapenos, one qt of broth. Dbl onions and double garlic. Then at the end I took the liq out and cooked it down to 1/3-1/4 of its volume to make it all less soupy. We ate it as stew or in tortillas as tacos. Reheats really well so make a lot! REALLY that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent! Based on comments, I made an even easier version. Meat, broth, and a very large can of salsa verde. The results were fantastic and this is now a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is now my husband's favorite recipe. Could not find canned tomatillos so I had to use a couple of jars of green salsa that included tomatillos & jalapenos. I also doubeld the cilantro and used an entire small head of garlic (personal preference). I will try this again with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gompte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Most excellent! I went with the Herdez salsa verde (two 16oz jars) in place of the tomatillos, diced green chilies and jalapeno peppers. Only one clove of garlic for us, and I substituted two bottles of Dos Equis beer for the water!! Loved the recipe! Definitely add jalapenos if you like it spicy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We fried up corn tortillas and did the normal taco fare of tomatos, cheese, avacado, cilantro, and of course hot sauce. Amazing! Even put the left over meat back in the pot with the juices and other ingredients and will eat it like a stew for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was super easy and yummy. I substituted 2 jars of Herdez salsa verde for the tomatillos, chilies and jalapenos, and chicken broth for the water (made it a little salty so next time I will not add extra salt). Delicious served over rice - I think it will be even better tomorrow. The pork just falls apart - melt in your mouth yummy! Good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was really really good. I did not add water, but used the juice from the large can of tomatillos. 2 fresh jalapenos was perfect for us, but too hot for the little one. She did not like it. We used pork loin as the meat instead. Made excellent tacos (wet ones since there was a lot of juice). I will make this again, as it is husband-approved...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Giddings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is seriously amazing. I made very few changes and they all had to do with just making it easier for me. I like som otheres used salsa verde 2 16 oz bottles instead of the tomatillos since canned they are hard to come by. Other than that I probably didn't use quite as much cilantro as called for. I made twice and the first time I did brown the pork, I used pork loin. The second time though I was putting everything in the crockpot the night before and having someone else take it out of the fridge and turn on the next day so I didn't brown it. I was unsure if browning it and then putting it in the fridge would be safe. I couldn't tell a difference either way. I did use straight water but just 3 coffee mugs full and I did put a couple chicken bouillon cubes in it to up the flavor. Got tons of rave reviews. And since after the meat is shredded and mixed back w/ the juices there is still so much juice left I actually heated up some posole in the juices separately and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious! I only used 1 jalapeno so it would be kid friendly. Has a nice little kick, but not too spicy. I also added 1T of Caldo del Pollo (powdered chicken bullion) to flavor the broth (this is a cheap, easy substitute for the chicken broth advice everyone gave). I saw the advice about using jarred green sauce, but if you saw how beautiful and delicious the onions and garlic looked after sauteing the pan juices I'm not sure you'd want to substitute for the fresh ingredients. When the pork was done, I lifted the roast out and used my immersion blender to make a smoother sauce, then returned the pork and shredded it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States