Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I liked it but it wasn't my favorite. It was nice to just leave it in the slow cooker. I will probably make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very good! I added 2 jalepinos but it was a bit too spicy for me so I took some out half way through. I also used a pork roast because pork shoulder sounded gross. Some of us ate it as stew, and some put it in a wrap. It was delish both ways. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I had fresh tomatillos I need to use so I used those rather than canned. The recipe was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I would recommend a leaner cut of meat and adding less water next time. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
EXTRAORDINARY. I did the suggested sub of using Herdez green salsa instead of the tomatillos and green chilis. For 4lbs of meat I used three cans Herdez, two jalapenos, one qt of broth. Dbl onions and double garlic. Then at the end I took the liq out and cooked it down to 1/3-1/4 of its volume to make it all less soupy. We ate it as stew or in tortillas as tacos. Reheats really well so make a lot! REALLY that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent! Based on comments, I made an even easier version. Meat, broth, and a very large can of salsa verde. The results were fantastic and this is now a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is now my husband's favorite recipe. Could not find canned tomatillos so I had to use a couple of jars of green salsa that included tomatillos & jalapenos. I also doubeld the cilantro and used an entire small head of garlic (personal preference). I will try this again with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gompte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Most excellent! I went with the Herdez salsa verde (two 16oz jars) in place of the tomatillos, diced green chilies and jalapeno peppers. Only one clove of garlic for us, and I substituted two bottles of Dos Equis beer for the water!! Loved the recipe! Definitely add jalapenos if you like it spicy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We fried up corn tortillas and did the normal taco fare of tomatos, cheese, avacado, cilantro, and of course hot sauce. Amazing! Even put the left over meat back in the pot with the juices and other ingredients and will eat it like a stew for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States